Reviewing Policy


Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 10.56.20


i


Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 10.58.34


In general, I tend to heavily base my rating of a book on how much it met my hopes and wishes when going into it were met, rather than judging how ‘good’ a book is. For me, the most important thing when reviewing is to realize why a book wasn’t for me, so that I can specify the reasons and others can decide for themselves if they might enjoy the book. The ratings I give are just a general guideline to give a first impression to the readers of my reviews.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 11.03.54.png = I loved this book. It met all hopes and expectations and maybe even exceeded them. I wouldn’t want to change anything about it.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 11.04.47 = I liked this book. Most of my hopes and expectations were met. There are things that kept me from enjoying it to the fullest. This might be because there are things I would like to change or there might have been things I expected but didn’t get from it.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 11.05.03 = I did enjoy aspects of this book but I’m not sure how I feel about it as a whole. This could be because the book, for me, was just ok overall or it could be because some aspects were enjoyable but others were not at all.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 11.05.24 = It wasn’t for me. My hopes and expectations weren’t met at all. It could be that I just didn’t enjoy the story, characters, writing or some other element that made me dislike it.

Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 11.05.39 = I dislike this book. This is a book I could barely get through or is a book I find problematic.


Schermafbeelding 2017-10-09 om 10.59.22


  • The cover, general information, and synopsis (all acquired from Goodreads).
  • An explanation of what my rating means, mentioning my general ways of rating and referring back to this post.
  • A sum up of my hopes and expectations when going into the book.
  • The body of the review, consisting of a “what I liked & “what I didn’t like” section, sometimes accompanied by a “what I feel conflicted about” section.
  • A recap of my feelings overall feelings and a recommendation to specify which readers might enjoy the book.

 

Advertisements