The Month I Freaked Out About Everything | July Wrap up

July Wrap up.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 16.45.32As you can probably gather from the title, July was a pretty crazy month for me. I finished up my 2nd year of uni by taking a resit test of my course on cross-cultural psychology. It was a test with open-ended questions, instead of multiple choice, which I wasn’t used to anymore. It’s safe to say I was super nervous about it. I was so scared I wouldn’t make it because then I spend an entire month on it for nothing. But I ended up getting a 9 on it! Which is absolutely crazy! I haven’t gotten such a high grade in my uni career. I’m very proud of myself. After that, my summer break officially started and so did freaking out. My boyfriend is going to start studying too, in September, in my hometown. He lives pretty far away from here so we need to find a place for us to live (because there is no such a thing as living on campus around here). I went online and started searching for a place to live, going at it like a complete maniac. It’s basically all I did this month and it was such a frustrating progress. I’ve learned nobody wants to rent to students. We are currently awaiting the verdict on some things we showed interest in. Hopefully, we’ll get something and I’ll get to actually enjoy some of my free time in August! Because I definitely need some rest before uni starts again in September.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 16.44.24.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-06-12 om 22.34.57 Schermafbeelding 2017-07-31 om 12.08.21
Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (audio) – Schermafbeelding 2017-06-04 om 17.33.17
I started this back in June and only had about 40 pages left. So I finished this very early on in the month. It wasn’t for me. The crazy amount of perspectives (11 if I remember correctly) killed it for me. I couldn’t keep up or connect to any of the characters. I didn’t care and the ending was kind of boring. Find all my thoughts on this book in my review. Yes. I actually wrote a review.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Schermafbeelding 2017-06-04 om 17.31.52
I jumped right on the bandwagon and started this very hyped series. I’m always so scared when it comes to hyped books because I feel like it’s impossible for them to still blow me away. I did really enjoy reading this book, though. The characters are very unique, vivid and lovable. The plot is very interesting and I can’t wait to see how it continues on from here. The only downside for my personal taste is that the writing is a little too flowery at times, which made it a bit slower. But that’s just something I have trouble with.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (audio) – Schermafbeelding 2017-06-04 om 17.32.22
I picked this up during the 24 in 48 Readathon, which took place during the weekend of the 22nd & 23rd of July. The audiobook wasn’t that long and I’ve heard it was a very cute and fast read so I figured it was perfect for that moment. I ended up loving every minute of it! I loved the main character so much I just wanted to hug him through the entire book. It was very fast paced and I always enjoy when books incorporate emails.

Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 9 & 10 by Hiromu Arakawa
During the 24 in 48 I also ended up picking this manga up again. Still really enjoying it. Very excited to see Major Armstrong again :).

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid (audio) – Schermafbeelding 2017-06-04 om 17.31.52
I went into this knowing absolutely nothing about it. Nothing. I ended up really liking it! It was very strange and unique read. You can read all my spoiler-free thoughts in my review. Another review. Who am I?

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-31 om 12.08.04

Because You Love to Hate Me edited by Emeriie – 149/342 pages read
I found this book in a bookshop at the train station, 3 days before the release date. I saw an opportunity. “Read it in a weekend so you can have a super early review”. That clearly didn’t work out. I had trouble with some of the stories and feel generally underwhelmed so far. It’s fun, but I want more villains to actually be evil and scary. Still waiting for a story to blow me away!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – 429/780 pages read
Remember how I said last month how I might finally finish GOT this month? Well.. It didn’t happen. I only read 20 pages since last month. I just keep being distracted by other books. Dang it! August will be the month I finally do it. It has to be! 

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (audio) – 2h 32m/12h 45m listened to
Around the end of the 24 in 48 readathon I picked this one up because I was excited to continue with the series. I decided to try the audiobook for this one (mainly because I don’t own the physical book and I’m too broke to be buying books). I think the flowery writing I talked about before is making it hard for me to focus on the audiobook. I always listen to audiobooks when doing other stuff but with this one, it seems impossible because I keep getting distracted. I listened to the first hour 3 times because I keep missing stuff. That’s why I decided to put it down for now. 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling – 164/435 pages read
Since I was having some trouble with reading other books, I decided to get back to my quest of reading the entire Harry Potter series for the first time. It’s been about a month since I finished the second book in the series, so it was about time anyway. I remember loving the movie for the Prisoner of Azkaban, but like before I don’t recall any of the plot or details. The plot is only just picking up so I’m very excited to keep reading this in August.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 16.46.26This month I kinda got back into the habit of blogging, after taking a small break to study for finals like a madman. I ended up still being a little inconsistent, but I’m definitely trying to get back on track. In August I plan to be a blogging machine and pre-write a bunch of posts to go up when I get back to uni again. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 16.48.19Besides the books I already started in July and want to finish up in August, I would like to get to these:
Schermafbeelding 2017-07-31 om 23.44.29.png

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41 What did you read this month?
Did you do any fun stuff?

10 thoughts on “The Month I Freaked Out About Everything | July Wrap up

  1. wowzer!! That sounds like a stressful month indeed. In Germany students don’t have dorms either, but university towns are used to it and most apartment buildings and houses cater to students. Wish you good luck and hopefully you guys can move in together quickly and be done with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep seeing ‘The Raven Boys’ everywhere. On blogs, on social media, in bookstores…I think the universe is giving me a not so subtle hint and telling me to read it 😛
    Wow, that does sound like a crazy month! That’s awesome news about your exam result. Congratulations! It’s one less thing for you to worry about 😀 Good luck with finding your new place! Moving is the worst!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the same thing with The Raven Boys! Even though I’m not AS crazy about it as others seem to be, the first book was a lot of fun and it’s definitely unique.
      It was! I’m actually not that nervous about the move itself. It’s just the process of finding something that’s sooo stressful! But I’m sure we’ll get there. And thank you so much! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Open ended questions are the worst. What made it even worse was that it was only 5 questions on a textbook that was close to 500 pages + 4 scientific articles. The entire time while studying I was like: none of this will be in the test anyway! 😣 But luckily it worked out in the end.

      I’m glad I did too. I figured there was no way it could live up to the amount of hype. But it really surprised me 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

