24 in 48 Readathon Wrap up | What I Read & Reflections

Copy of 24 in 48 Readathon

This past weekend, I participated in the 24 in 48 readathon, in which you try to read for 24 hours within the 48-hour time frame. Last week I did a post talking about which books I might be reading and I discussed my planning. You can find it here if you missed it. Spoiler alert: I didn’t stick to my TBR or my time schedule. Is anyone surprised? I didn’t succeed in reading 24 hours, but I managed to put in quite a few hours! To be exact, I read for this long:

20170724_155752.png

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-24 om 10.51.59Schermafbeelding 2017-06-12 om 22.34.57Schermafbeelding 2017-07-24 om 12.31.43.png

DAY 1 – SATURDAY 22nd
I started listening to Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli about 2 hours later than I planned to start the readathon because I overslept. So that was a great start. Goodbye, elaborate planning. I ended up finishing the audio book during the day. Unfortunately, I didn’t end up reading much more, only starting Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 9 by Hiromu Arakawa. I expected my weekend to be way more relaxed than it ended up being. My boyfriend and I have been searching for a house to rent and I got a call saying I could look at some houses on Saturday if I wanted to. So that took up a bunch of time I had planned to spend reading. That’s fine with me because it’s an important thing. 

DAY 2 – SUNDAY 22nd
Again, I woke up a little bit later than I intended to. Instead of staying home, like I thought I would, I had to travel to my boyfriend so that we could gather paperwork (and stuff) for the potential house I visited on Saturday. While on the train I finished Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 9 and read Vol. 10 as well. Once I arrived at my boyfriends’ house there wasn’t much room for reading. Before I went to bed I listened to the first 2.5 hours of The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater on audio. And that’s it!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-24 om 10.52.29

So I didn’t end up succeeding in the goal of the TBR, at least not technically. I didn’t read for 24 hours in 48 hours. However, I do feel pretty successful. I managed to read 11 hours in two days and finished an entire book in one day. Those are both things I normally wouldn’t accomplish, so that’s a win! I’m pretty sure it would have turned out better if I was actually free all weekend so that I could have stuck to the planning I made. But you can’t have it all, can you?

If you are a slow reader, this is a great readathon for you because it’s all about how long you read, not how much. I realized audiobooks are truly your best friend with this readathon. They help you to turn hours spent to getting ready or cooking into hours you can also count towards your total. Taking enough breaks is also very important, just so you don’t get sick of it. 

Whenever the next 24 in 48 comes around, I will definitely participate again. It was lots of fun to push myself and go on twitter to see how others were doing. Next time around off course my goal will be to reach 24 hours, but I’ll be happy if I manage to read a little more than I did this time!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41If you participated to, how much did you manage to read?
If not, would you ever consider participating in the future?

2 thoughts on “24 in 48 Readathon Wrap up | What I Read & Reflections

  1. I really like the idea behind this readathon as it doesn’t matter how many books you can read and instead focuses on the time you spend reading! I might have to actually participate next time this readathon is happening – if my booktubeathon experience is a positive one!

    You still did great though, I think! You ended up being much busier than expected but still read for 11 hours! And audiobooks really are the greatest! I will usually listen to one when I am walking to my parents as I find just walking there rather boring, or while doing the dishes, etc! Gotta take advantage of modern technology!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

