Declutter that TBR Pile (71-75) | Removing 4 Books

Down the TBR Hole 71-75

This bookish meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 as a wishlist.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 00.21.10Fates and Furies

“Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At the core of this rich, expansive, layered novel, Lauren Groff presents the story of one such marriage over the course of twenty-four years. At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed.”

#71
This book has been compared a lot to Gone Girl. Which could be a good thing because I did enjoy that one. However, every thriller gets compared to Gone Girl so it doesn’t really say anything anymore. I’ve heard it was boring. I’ve heard that the characters are unlikeable to the extent that it’s hard to get through the book but that the beautiful language kinda saves it. I’m all for forming my own opinion… but I just lost interest in it after reading so many bad and meh reviews. Plus I value characters and plot over writing style.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 00.22.39The Curse of the Sphinx

“How long can a monster stay hidden in plain sight?
Seventeen-year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way. It’s safer. When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse, murder from the shadow monsters of the Underworld, or have the demigods finally found her? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.”

#72
This is one of those books that I just added because I saw it pop up a lot on some popular BookTube channels. I just thought “it’s probably good because I see it around a lot” and added it without really thinking. This book doesn’t really fit in my reading tastes. Paranormal, Mythology, and Romance are all generally not things I gravitate towards.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 00.25.58Salt to the Sea

“Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.
Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies… and war.
As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.
Yet not all promises can be kept.”

#73
I remember also adding this book because of BookTube and the huge amount of hype it got last year. This again is within a genre I don’t usually go for, namely historical fiction. The big difference is that this book actually sounds unique and gripping. Who knows, the multiple perspectives thing might even help me to get into the genre.
Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 00.24.30.pngThe Murder Complex

“Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?”

#74
Meh… I’m not that into dystopian books. It just doesn’t sound like it’s something I haven’t already read. 
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 00.18.22.pngCity of Bones

“When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…”

#75
The hype killed it for me with this one. I’ve heard “The first book isn’t that good but you have to stick with it. The third one is really good” so many times. Aint nobody got time to read two books just to get to the third. Maybe I’ll change my mind someday. Not anytime soon, though.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Total amount of books removed so far: 40

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

6 thoughts on “Declutter that TBR Pile (71-75) | Removing 4 Books

Leave a Reply

