24 in 48 read-a-thon TBR options & my plans

& My Plans
A new day. A new week. A new readathon to fail at. The 24 in 28 Readathon will be taking place during the upcoming weekend, running from Saturday 12:01 AM until Sunday 11:59 PM EST. I will be sticking to the original times. This means I’m converting the EST times to CET times and I will be reading from Saturday 6:01 AM to Monday 5:59 AM (if my calculations are right). The goal is to read 24 out of 48 hours. I’m guessing this will be near impossible but I will try like my life depends on it. “Nikki, do you want to go out tonight?”.  I really can’t! Very important plans, I swear!

So I thought I would share with you some of my possible reads during this weekend of madness. I’ve also made a general planning of my hours. Taking this very seriously. I’ll probably end up just reading an hour, but let’s just pretend I got this.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 23.37.47Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 20.42.33.png

  • Because You Love to Hate Me by Ameriie & a bunch of authors and booktubers
  • The Leaving by Tara Altebrando
  • Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  • Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

I’m reading all of these right now. It’s a bad habit. These will actually be good books for a readathon I think. Because You Love to Hate Me and The Bazaar of Bad Dreams are short stories collections. The Leaving has some weird text manipulation, so some pages only have a few words on them. So those will work fine. Game of Thrones? Maybe not but I have to finish it someday. Let’s just see how far I’ll get.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 23.34.46
Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 20.59.48.png

  • Death Note, Vol. 4-12 by Tsugumi Ohba & Obata Takeshi
  • Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 10-12 by Hiromu Arakawa

I’m so excited about continuing and hopefully finishing Death Note and reading what I own of Fullmetal Alchemist. These mangas have been pushed aside to read other books. No more! I’m expecting something crazy.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 23.40.18Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 21.04.48

  • We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (45m)
  • Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur (1h 6m)
  • Howls Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (3h 22m)
  • I’m Thinking of Ending Thinks by Iain Reid (5h 22m)

These are just some of the shorter audiobooks I have on my app. I might end up listening to some something entirely different books. We’ll see. I’m most excited about I’m Thinking of Ending Thinks. The title and cover are so intriguing. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 23.41.19I’m planning to get ready in advance. Get stuff ready for dinners, buy some comfort food, maybe a bottle of wine. GET READY. I’ll be home alone the entire weekend, which is fine because then I won’t be interrupted while on my mission. I plan to read for 3 hours, take an hour break and then start again. Is that reasonable? I have no clue. I’ll be switching between physical books, audiobooks, and manga because I’m sure I’ll have no other choice. Here is my general time schedule:

Saturday 22nd
06-07 Still sleeping
07-10 Current reads
10-11 Break
11-02 Audiobooks
02-03 Break
03-06 Manga
06-08 Break
08-11 Current reads
11-12 Watch some New Girl

Total on Saturday: 12

Sunday 23nd
12-07 Sleep
07-10 Current reads
10-11 Break
11-02 Audiobooks
02-03 Break
03-06 Manga
06-08 Break
08-11 Current reads
11-12 Watch some more New Girl
Total on Saturday: 12

Monday 24rd
12-06 SLEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41What do you guys think? Am I going to make it?
Are you participated or have you done so in the past?
Any tips?

17 thoughts on “24 in 48 read-a-thon TBR options & my plans

  1. Ohh that sound like a really fun readathon! I kept seeing the name around but didn’t know exactly what it meant until now. You sound like you are really prepared for this one!! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh great TBR! I kinda want to attempt this, but I’m doing BookTube-A-Thon and the Biannual Biblithon so I don’t want to readathon myself out, haha. I’m planning to read Because You Love to Hate Me for BookTube-A-Thon and I LOVED We Should all be Feminists and milk and honey. Good luck :D!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was considering those readathons as well. They sound like a lot of fun. I ended up choosing the 24 in 48 one because it’s about how many hours you read in stead of how much. Considering I’m such a slow reader it seemed like a better fit. I hope you enjoy the other readathons though! And the books you mentioned 🙂 Goor luck to you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

