Mid-Year Goals Check Up | 2017

Copy of 24 in 48 Readathon

Today I’m coming at you with this check up post, where I reflect on how I’ve been doing so far this year aka confessing I suck. I formulated most of these goals in a post I did in January. For most of them, I don’t even remember what I wrote. So this will possibly be very confronting. Let’s get on with it!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 13.11.32

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-16 om 19.49.05

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-16 om 19.57.22.png

As you can see, I’m currently 2 books behind schedule. However, this isn’t a disaster. I’m pretty sure I will catch up during the summer vacation. Since I don’t have many plans (besides searching for a house), I think I will knock out a bunch of books. I will also be participating in some readathons. Not worried about this one.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 13.10.49

Read more! I just started getting back into reading in 2016 and decided on a low Goodreads goal (12 books). This year I’m going for 30, which means I have to read 2,5 books a month. It’s a bigger goal, but still manageable.

Last year I ended up reading 13 books and right now I’m at 14. So technically I can’t fail at this anymore. I already read more books than I last year!


Read more diverse books, especially #ownvoices.

Well… I haven’t read many diverse books yet this year. However, I’m not even sure how diversely I read last year. I’m planning on making a system of ranking books on diversity so that, at the end of the year, I can compare 2017 to 2016 on reading diversely.


Read more books about mental illness. I think this is very important, as I am studying this.

Sounds like some solid logical thinking there. I have read books about mental illness, but almost all of them were textbooks for uni (except Thirteen Reasons Why). Hopefully, I’ll read more fiction with mental representation during the remainder of the year. 


Finish up all the books I started in 2016 and never finished (the ‘currently on hold pile’ in my A Reading Year in Review post). Also, I need to stop this bad habit in 2017. Note to self: finish what you start or DNF the book.

Is it ironic that I’m currently in the middle of 6 books? Oops. Clearly, I didn’t get change this bad habit. There were 8 books on my ‘currently reading on hold pile’. Of those, I’ve read 3 and made some progress in 1. Meh… it’s something.


Pick up some larger books, stop being afraid of those. I don’t pick them up because I’m scared they will take me forever to read. I’m already a slow reader and read way less than the average blogger, so I stay away from big books to avoid reading even less. Which is a pretty dumb reason to not read a book. I shouldn’t care about numbers, it’s all about enjoying the books we read.

I have continued with Game of Thrones and didn’t really care that I was spending a lot of time on it, which was kind of the point of this goal. However, I have still been picking up mostly short books. This comes down to me just being very excited to read those short books so I’m not mad about it.


Buy less. I’m attempting buying a book only after I’ve read two. My TBR pile is not too out of control yet but I’d like to cut it down a little.

Let’s actually look how much I’ve bought so far… 20 Books. I’ve bought more than I’ve read so I guess I must admit I’m failing at this goal. I’m pretty sure I won’t be buying many books in the near future because I have to save up. But can anyone really make a promise about not buying books?

Succeed in a readathon. How great would that be?!

I haven’t but I’m still trying! My next attempt will be the 24-in-48 readathon (happening 23-24 July aka next Saturday and Sunday).

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 13.09.25

Be more consistent. I always do good with posting on specific dates and times for a while but start skipping some later. I need to stop doing that.

I’ve actually been less consistent with posting, which is a shame. It has been for good reasons though. I really had to focus on studying if I wanted to make it through the year and I’m happy I did. Off course I’m gonna try to find a better and more consistent posting schedule, but I’m not going to beat myself up about this one.


Write blogs in advance. This one is the source of the problem of the one above. I should not have to write my blogs the morning of.

Also haven’t really been doing this. I was planning my posts and writing them in advance. Unfortunately, I was having some problems where my posts wouldn’t save properly, so I had to write them in one go for a while. Eventually, I fell out of the habit of writing them in advance again. I’m hoping to get my blogging shit together during this summer vacation because I’m guessing next year of uni will be even busier than last year.


Write more reviews. My goal was to do one every Friday and I managed to do that for a while. Sadly, my last review was posted in September. I just need to start writing reviews right after reading the book.

HA-HA. Feel free to laugh at me too. I’ve posted 2 reviews so far this year.
*slowly backs away to avoid confrontation*


Do more Tags. So feel free to tag me in stuff this year.

I’ve done 3! So that’s already waaaaaay better than my reviews.
*nervous laughter*


Do more original posts. Thinking of new ideas.

I haven’t been doing a whole bunch of original posts, but I have a bunch of ideas ready. So watch out because you’ll soon be bombarded.


Finally fix the layout and graphics of my posts, so that I like them. I have changed every single post on my blog at least 10 times. It’s not healthy!

Well, thanks for the reminder past Nikki. You are right. It totally isn’t healthy. Yet I’ve changed the entire layout of my blog and every featured image at least 4 times this year. I’m not apologizing. 


Interact more. Give more love back to other bloggers. I always reply to my comments and I do visit other blogs but the latter should be more regularly.

This one actually makes me kind of sad. Due to taking so much time off to study, I haven’t been interacting with all the lovely people inside this community. I have still been replying to the comments I get on my blog but I haven’t been as active with reading posts by others. I definitely want to get back on this when things settle down and I start planning things better again. 


Use my social media, Instagram and Twitter, more. I am horrible with this, so I want to at least give it a fair shot this year.

I’m still horrible with social media.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Overall I haven’t been doing great, but I haven’t been doing awful either. I guess that’s enough for me right now. I’ll just try to improve as much as I can in the remainder of the year 🙂

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Do you have any big reading and/or blogging goals for this year?
How have you been doing so far?
Is there anything you want to change before the end of 2017?

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Goals Check Up | 2017

  1. Re: books about mental illness… have you read Susanna Kaysen’s “Girl, Interrupted”? It’s a series of short essays about her experiences and a quick read, very different from the film. It’s the type of thing you could get through in a weekend and I really enjoyed it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

