Declutter that TBR Pile (66-70) | Removing 2 Books

Down the TBR Hole 66-70This bookish meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 21.55.10Breakfast at Tiffany's

“It’s New York in the 1940s, where the martinis flow from cocktail hour till breakfast at Tiffany’s. And nice girls don’t, except, of course, Holly Golightly. Pursued by Mafia gangsters and playboy millionaires, Holly is a fragile eyeful of tawny hair and turned-up nose, a heart-breaker, a perplexer, a traveller, a tease. She is irrepressibly ‘top banana in the shock department’, and one of the shining flowers of American
fiction.”


#66
Like I’ve talked about before in these posts, classics are not my thing. It’s mostly the writing. I think? I’m just not ‘ready’ for them yet. Not able to enjoy them yet. Sure there might be a classic out there I could enjoy right now, but there is no need to keep a bunch of them on my TBR.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 21.51.24Intensity

“Past midnight, Chyna Shepard, twenty-six, gazes out a moonlit window, unable to sleep on her first night in the Napa Valley home of her best friend’s family. Instinct proves reliable. A murderous sociopath, Edgler Foreman Vess, has entered the house, intent on killing everyone inside. A self-proclaimed “homicidal adventurer,” Vess lives only to satisfy all appetites as they arise, to immerse himself in sensation, to live without fear, remorse or limits, to live with “intensity.” Chyna is trapped in his deadly orbit. Chyna is a survivor, toughened by a lifelong struggle for safety and self-respect. Now she will be tested as never before. At first her sole aim is to get out alive–until, by chance, she learns the identity of Vess’s next intended victim, a faraway innocent only she can save. Driven by a newly discovered thirst for meaning beyond mere self-preservation, Chyna musters every inner resource she has to save an endangered girl… as moment by moment, the terrifying threat of Edgler Foreman Vess intensifies.”

#67
Dean Koontz is one of those authors that you hear mentioned quite often. He seems to be quite a big name in the mystery/thriller/horror genre. I’d like to read something by him soon and this seems like a good place to start.
Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 21.53.13The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

“Berlin, 1942 : When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move to a new house far, far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people in the distance.

But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different from his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences.”

#68
This was required reading in one of my last years of high school. I never got around to actually reading it, I just watched the movie instead. Please put away that sphere! I know I did wrong. I’m sorry. Now, 4 years later, I’m actually quite interested in reading it. The movie made me cry like an infant. 
Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 21.54.06Me Before You

“Louisa Clark is an ordinary young woman living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.”

#69
1. It’s romance, 2. It seems like a very romancy romance, 3. Many reviews say the characters are unbearable, 4. It’s said to be problematic. No thank you.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-18 om 21.45.05Lolita

“Humbert Humbert – scholar, aesthete and romantic – has fallen completely and utterly in love with Lolita Haze, his landlady’s gum-snapping, silky skinned twelve-year-old daughter. Reluctantly agreeing to marry Mrs Haze just to be close to Lolita, Humbert suffers greatly in the pursuit of romance; but when Lo herself starts looking for attention elsewhere, he will carry her off on a desperate cross-country misadventure, all in the name of Love. Hilarious, flamboyant, heart-breaking and full of ingenious word play, Lolita is an immaculate, unforgettable masterpiece of obsession, delusion and lust.”

#70
I already own this book. One of the three unread classics I currently own. Due to my problems with classics discussed above, I’m not sure how long it will take me to get to this. Probably a very long time. Anyhow, it stays until I do.
Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Total amount of books removed so far: 36

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 19.17.11Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

2 thoughts on “Declutter that TBR Pile (66-70) | Removing 2 Books

Leave a Reply

