June 2017 Topics | Searching Saturday

2.png

Welcome to Searching Saturday! A weekly bookish meme created and hosted by me. The aim is to find new-to-you books every week. Each last Sunday of the month, I will post the topics for the upcoming month, like in this post. These topics help you to search for books within a specific category. It’s like a scavenger hunt, a BOOKISH scavenger hunt. I’m searching my books at the local bookstore but you can also use Goodreads or any other spot you can find books!

For more information on the meme, go here.
To see all the past topics and future topics, go here.

WARNING: DRAMATIC UPDATE INCOMING

This post is a day late again and I apologize. Some of you might have noticed that I’ve been pretty inactive lately (only posting about once a week). Uni has been sucking the life out of me and I basically haven’t left the library in two weeks. I can’t wait to go on a blogging spree when I finally finish up my courses for this year. I see a light at the end of the tunnel, but the tunnel might very well collapse on me. 

Anyhow… I hope you enjoy this month’s topics!

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 23.23.59

3rd: ‘C’ Authors
Another alphabet letter last name topic. It’s never ending! Well… not until we reach Z. Search for books of which the authors LAST name starts with an C.

10th: Over 50.000 Goodreads Ratings
This topic naturally flowed from last months “Under 1.000 ratings” topic. Though finding these lesser known books was pretty challenging, I think it might be even more challenging to find well-known books that you don’t know yet. So, Search for books that have over 50.000 Goodreads Ratings. Let me remind you, the objective of Searching Saturday is to find new-to-you books.  Finding something that you haven’t seen before that has over 50.000 ratings might be impossible, but let’s give it a try, shall we?

17th: Covers with Veggies / Plants / Green stuff
Happy National Eat Your Vegetable day! YES, another exciting national day to celebrate and inspire my topics. I Quote “National Eat Your Vegetable Day is one more opportunity to remind everyone to continue with this part of a healthy diet”. Because doesn’t everyone just love being reminded to eat healthy foods? I’m absolutely terrible with eating veggies, hence I don’t actually encounter them that often. So in my mind vegetables = some green leafy stuff. Boom, this topic was created. Search for books with actual vegetables, plants or any type of green stuff on the cover. Decide for yourself how difficult you want to make it. Oh and NO COOKBOOKS ALLOWED!

24th: Books with Something Extra
Who doesn’t love to be surprised by something extra in their book? NO, I’m not talking about finding food stains or other unidentifiable substances in library books. I’m talking about actual extra’s featured in the book. Think; pictures, illustrations, text manipulation, mixed media, family trees, maps, etc. Search for books with something you don’t always/usually find in a book. Though you can pick books that include illustrations, you aren’t meant to just pick a graphic novel or a manga. That doesn’t count. You’re not getting off that easy. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 23.23.59

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-13 om 10.45.35

Do you like these topics?
Which one are you most excited for?
Will you be joining me in Searching Saturday this month?

 

Leave a Reply

