Finding Books with Under 1.000 Goodreads Ratings | Searching Saturday

Searching Saturday 2-3.pngSearching Saturday is a weekly bookish meme created and hosted by me. The aim is to find new-to-you books that fit the topic for that week (which I post on the last Sunday of each month). It’s like a scavenger hunt, a bookish scavenger hunt! I search for the books at my local bookstore but you can also use Goodreads. For more information on the meme, go here. To see all the past topics and future topics, go here.

Schermafbeelding 2017-06-15 om 18.19.30The goal was to find books that have under 1.000 Goodreads ratings and have been published at least 2 months ago. I must admit it has been one of my favorite topics so far. It was quite challenging but so rewarding. Also, the chances of you guys know all these books are pretty slim, which I think is a nice change from the popular books. Spoiler alert: all the books I found are well under 1.000 ratings! I’m so proud.

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46Synopsis T81 Ratings – Published Feb 11, 2016
This is the book that started the madness. A little while ago I was casually passing some waiting time at the bookstore in the train station. I saw this book, which I had never heard of. I looked it up on Goodreads and was surprised to see it only had 81 ratings! I was surprised because if it’s in that bookshop I would think it would be at least moderately popular since their selection of English books is pretty small anyways. So that’s how this topic came to be! I’m not actually interested in the book itself. The average rating on Goodreads is 2.86. Jikes. Plus it sounds like a real downer. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46Synopsis A-2143 Ratings – Published Jan 26, 2017
GUYS, look at that gorgeous cover! It’s a fantasy middle-grade. The first bit of the synopsis sounds a little cliche to me and is not appealing at all. It’s giving me “oh no absolutely everything is going wrong” vibes. However, the second part… frost patterns on her skin? Magical world of winter? Sounds great!

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46Synopsis J787 Ratings – Published June 7, 2016
I thought I’d never seen it before, but then I came home and saw the alternative cover edition and remember seeing it on a bunch of Booktube videos. But I didn’t recognize it before so oh well. It sounded like a pretty basic fantasy to me until BAM. That last line of the synopsis so gripping!

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46Synopsis O205 Ratings – Published June 2, 2016
Again, I’m loving the cover. The synopsis sounds a little strange. A date with a beautiful girl ends in tragedy and now your only choice is to enter a gang? Hm… but it would be something I might like to try. There’s something about it.

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46Synopsis M349 Ratings – Published May 5, 2016
These covers are killing me. I feel the sudden urge to own this book. HELP ME! The synopsis is super vague but so darn fascinating. Ruling the underworld? I want to know what it’s actually about, right now. This seems like the type of book that would get a lot of attention… I wonder why it didn’t.

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-26 om 23.57.46

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-13 om 10.45.35

I’m so happy with the books I found this week! There are some super interesting ones that I maybe wouldn’t have looked at twice if it wasn’t for this post. I think this topic was one of the most fun ones so far and we will definitely be doing it again sometime.

Are these books new-to-you too?
Do you like the sound of any of them?
Why do you think these have so few ratings?

5 thoughts on “Finding Books with Under 1.000 Goodreads Ratings | Searching Saturday

Leave a Reply

