Removing 4 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole-3

This bookish meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already and ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37
Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 19.53.33House of Leaves

“A blind old man, a young apprentice working in a tattoo shop, and a mad woman haunting an Ohio institute narrate this story of a family that encounters an endlessly shifting series of hallways in their new home, eventually coming face to face with the awful darkness lying at its heart.”

 

#61 – Added February 10, 2016
This book seems so thrilling and different but is also very intimidating due to its size. I’ve read reviews saying that this book is difficult to get through because it has a weird way of telling the story. I’m a little scared it will go right over my head but I’m intrigued.
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist)

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 19.48.57My Sister's Keeper

“Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged… until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.”

#62 – Added February 11, 2016
I don’t know about this one. I’ve seen the movie a really long time ago and remember thinking it was very moving. However, I don’t feel like I’ll pick it up anytime soon. Maybe in the far, far future.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 19.51.55Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

“If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss. She wouldn’t have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn’t have hit her head on the steps. She wouldn’t have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia. She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace. She might even have remembered why she fell in love with him in the first place. She would understand why her best friend, Will, keeps calling her “Chief.” She’d know about her mom’s new family. She’d know about her dad’s fiancée. She never would have met James, the boy with the questionable past and the even fuzzier future, who tells her he once wanted to kiss her. She wouldn’t have wanted to kiss him back. But Naomi picked heads.”

#63 – Added February 11, 2016
Ehh… The blurb is pretty gripping but I’m put off by the part about a boy wanting to kiss her and that she doesn’t know why she wants to kiss him back. I’ve been very cautious lately about reading books about mental illness that involve romance. So I’m just going to take it off for now.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 19.54.51The Virgin Suicides

“The shocking thing about the girls was how nearly normal they seemed when their mother let them out for the one and only date of their lives. Twenty years on, their enigmatic personalities are embalmed in the memories of the boys who worshipped them and who now recall their shared adolescence: the brassiere draped over a crucifix belonging to the promiscuous Lux; the sisters’ breathtaking appearance on the night of the dance; and the sultry, sleepy street across which they watched a family disintegrate and fragile lives disappear.”

#64 – Added February 11, 2016
The synopsis is already so confusing to me… I just don’t think this is something for me.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 19.50.37A Splendid Thousand Suns

“Born a generation apart and with very different ideas about love and family, Mariam and Laila are two women brought jarringly together by war, by loss and by fate. As they endure the ever escalating dangers around them—in their home as well as in the streets of Kabul—they come to form a bond that makes them both sisters and mother-daughter to each other, and that will ultimately alter the course not just of their own lives but of the next generation.”

#65 – Added February 11, 2016
I just really want to read something by this author. I kept The Kite Runner on my TBR because in drawn to that one a little bit more, even though I already saw the movie. I have the rule of having only one book per author on my wishlist so this one must go for now.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37Total amount of books removed: 34 out of 65

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.06.37
Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41
Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

6 thoughts on “Removing 4 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. So impressed with all you guys who are able to cut your TBR down. Every time I’m like, “I should remove this…” I end up being like, “…nah.” I’ve not read A Thousand Splendid Suns, but I’m hoping to soon. The Kite Runner is actually my favorite book, so I’m just afraid I’ll go into Hosseini’s other books with too high expectations! Hope you enjoy it. And good luck cutting your TBR further!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s hard for me to remove things too! But I keep reminding myself I could always go back on my blog and see if I want to read anything I’ve removed in the past.
      I’m so bummed I saw the movie adaptation of the Kite Runner before I ever got the chance to read the book. A few years ago we watched it for arts/film class and sort of analysed it together. I remember absolutely loving it 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course! I know you can always re-add then. But it’s like I have separation anxiety or something. Haha.

        I actually still haven’t seen the movie. Normally I’m really good about watching adaptations and not comparing them to the book… But this is my FAVE book. But I’ll get to it someday. (:

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I totally get that. I guess removing stuff just isn’t for you. I had to start removing stuff because I started feeling overwhelmed by the amount of books on my Goodreads TBR. I couldn’t even find anything on it to read anymore. I felt like my TBR pile could crush me! It was scary for me to look at that list so I had to face the problem head first 😂
        I hope you end up enjoying the movie as much as you did the book (or close to it).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

