Successful April Wrap-Up

Wrap-Up

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-28 om 23.54.56This month was pretty uneventful for me. I had some resit exams which I passed! My best friend got her driver’s license a while ago but she was afraid to go on the highway again. So we went together to conquer her fear. We both freaked out when we suddenly smelled a really strange smell in the car, but it ended up being the smell of another car nearby. I was also able to spend an entire week together with my boyfriend because my mom was on vacation. He and I have only been seeing each other on the weekends since we had to move out of the previous house we had together. It was a wonderful week πŸ™‚

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 00.04.22.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-05-28 om 23.55.10Schermafbeelding 2017-05-01 om 21.26.28.png

Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 7 & 8 by Hiromu Arakawa
Still absolutely in love with this series! It’s so action packed and funny. I didn’t like volume 8 as much as the other volumes so far. It was a little slower I think.

Audiobook: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins –Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Remember how I just DNF’ed this in my May Wrap-Up? Surprise! I ended upΒ finishing it this month. I got a subscription to an audiobook site, so I tried finishing the audiobook version. It felt less slow and the narration made it more compelling for me. I definitely recommend the audiobook for this one!

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir –Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Well well well… I rated the first book in the series 5 stars. I was very disappointed by this one. My biggest problem with it was how the romance played such a big role in it, compared to the previous book. I found myself rolling my eyes a lot. I was also getting a bit frustrated with Laia’s perspective. I still enjoyed the book overall, though.

Audiobook: Little Peach by Peggy Kern –Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…+
This book was so emotional and raw. It’s a book about child prostitution, which is a hard topic to discuss but must be discussed. It gives you insight into this world without being graphic. It shows the reader how this could happen to anyone, given certain circumstances. The characters were so well developed and distinct. The audiobook was great too, I think it fitted so well because the woman who narrated it had this sort of emptiness in her voice. It clicked.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
I’m still conflicted about this book and I might change the rating to 4 stars later. I just had very mixed feelings about it. I think it’s an important book that starts a conversation about suicide and has some good messages. On the other hand, I feel like the tone of the book made me feel uncomfortable. On the back it says “Press play to find out the secret”, it’s kind of like they are making a mystery-thriller out of it. I had some other issues with it as well.

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 00.04.22Schermafbeelding 2017-05-28 om 23.55.23This month I was a little less active on my blog. I followed my schedule for most of the month but ended up taking a week long break at the end of the month. It’s a case of blogging burnout, which has still not entirely passed. I’m trying to stay on it!

This month I posted some discussion-type posts. DNF’ing books, in which I finally conquer my fear of DNF’ing a book I’m not enjoying. And Some Changes, in which I discuss some of the problems I’ve been having with my blog and how I’m going to change things up. I think I’ll be doing a lot more posts like these because I’m really enjoying it!

Another thing I posted this month which I really liked making was my Down the TBR Hole Books 1 to 50 Recap. It was so much fun to look back at the first 10 posts and see which of those I kept and removed. I’m pretty proud of my stats.

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-05 om 13.12.47

 

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 00.04.22Schermafbeelding 2017-05-28 om 23.55.34Schermafbeelding 2017-05-07 om 10.39.12.png

Schermafbeelding 2017-05-29 om 00.04.22

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-13 om 10.45.35

Did you do any fun stuff this month?
How was your reading?

2 thoughts on “Successful April Wrap-Up

  1. Yes, yes, Harry Potter! I started re-reading the series a couple of weeks ago and am up to the third. I try to read one Potter a month, just so it doesn’t get boring and I can also read my new books.

    The Bazaar of Bad Dreams,… Still on my TBR πŸ˜€ And will probably stay there for a while, I am in the middle of ‘Misery’ atm.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

