Finding Books with People on the Cover | Searching Saturday

3
Searching Saturday is a weekly meme created by me! The aim is to search a book (or multiple books) that is new-to-you and fits the weekly theme. I’m changing up my method of searching and the content of these posts. Previously, I was searching books on Goodreads, picked two that I liked that fit that week’s theme, and showed these off in my posts. From now on, I will be searching books at my local bookstore, pick the first few I find that are new-to-me fit the theme, and discuss if I could see myself reading them. Feel free to join this new method, keep the old one, or try something entirely different. For more information about why I made this change and which other changes you can expect, go here.

You can find more information about this meme here.
For a list of all past and future topics, go here.

This Week

I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who likes people on their cover. How closer the close-up, the more terrible. We might be missing out on some great books. Search for books with a person on the cover.

SEAS 23.png

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-20 om 22.56.02.png

Binge by Tyler Oakley
This one was the first to jump out at me in the bookstore, mainly because the “humor” shelf is the first shelf and this one was facing out. It was bound to catch my eyes with all those colors. This is the only one I had heard about before, but I haven’t ever really considered it. As far as the person on the cover thing goes, I think it works with this one. I used to watch Tyler Oakley’s Youtube channel all the time and he is a wonderful, funny person. However, I don’t know how I feel about all the Youtubers coming out with books. I must admit I’m not really drawn to them. I think I’d read it if I could get it for free on audiobook? Something like that.

Lion (or A Long Way Home) by Saroo Brierley
I think the movie adaptation was a big deal last year, right? I think I’ve been living under a rock again. This is the memoir of Saroo Brierley, telling a story of losing his family, being adopted and a road to discovering where he came from. It sounds intriguing. I would like to read it someday, but I don’t think I’ll be picking up a memoir anytime soon. I’ll add it to my ‘someday’ shelf on Goodreads. Ps, I think the person on the cover thing works here as well, maybe that’s just a memoir thing.

Immortal Unchained by Lynsay Sands
Judging by the cover of this book, I won’t ever read it. It’s the kind of book I try to stay far, far away from. You know I can barely stand romance in fantasy books, I don’t know how I could ever get through a full on romance book. There’s nothing wrong with liking books like this one, it’s just a personal preference. A quote from the synopsis “Sarita intends that Domitian show her exactly what an eternity of pleasure feels like”.  I just can’t. By the way, why is his face cut off on the cover? Was he not handsome enough to be on there entirely? Isn’t that a weird decision?

Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine
It’s about vampires. I don’t really like vampires. It’s also the short story collection tied to a book series so I couldn’t read it even if I wanted to. Anyhow… this book cover looks like THE standard girl on the cover book, only she has fancy hair. I truly don’t get how a publisher could think this cover is a good idea.

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner
Ehh. James Dashner. I’ve seen so many bad reviews for the Maze Runner, mainly criticizing his writing style. Looking at the reviews for this new one, I’m seeing a lot of the same things. I know I should probably see for myself but I don’t think I will. This person on the cover is pretty subtle. I like it. But still no.

SEAS 23

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-13 om 10.45.35

How do feel about my finds?
Do you like this new version of Searching Saturday?

One thought on “Finding Books with People on the Cover | Searching Saturday

Leave a Reply

