Declutter that TBR Pile (56-60) | Removing 3 Books

DTTH 56-60This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 23.05.41A Court of Thorns and Roses

“Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price… Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.”

#56 – Added February 7, 2016
I’m really not that interested in this book anymore. All the hype and people swooning over the romance. It just doesn’t seem like the type of book I’ll like. However, I own this book already so I feel like I have to at least give it a try.
Verdict: KEEP (To be read)

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56
Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 23.21.59.pngThe Silence of the Lambs

“A young FBI trainee. An evil genius locked away for unspeakable crimes. A plunge into the darkest chambers of a psychopath’s mind– in the deadly search for a serial killer… Thomas Harris is the author of Hannibal, Red Dragon, and Black Sunday. As part of the search for a serial murderer nicknamed “Buffalo Bill,” FBI trainee Clarice Starling is given an assignment. She must visit a man confined to a high-security facility for the criminally insane and interview him.”

#57 – Added February 7, 2016
I want to read this, I already own it. However, I haven’t read the first book so there is no use to having this book on my TBR. It can go until I finish the first book.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 23.29.46Hannibal

“Years after his escape, posing as scholarly Dr. Fell, curator of a grand family’s palazzo, Hannibal lives the good life in Florence, playing lovely tunes by serial killer/composer Henry VIII and killing hardly anyone himself. Clarice is unluckier: in the novel’s action-film-like opening scene, she survives an FBI shootout gone wrong, and her nemesis, Paul Krendler, makes her the fall guy. Clarice is suspended, so, unfortunately, the first cop who stumbles on Hannibal is an Italian named Pazzi, who takes after his ancestors, greedy betrayers depicted in Dante’s Inferno. Pazzi is on the take from a character as scary as Hannibal: Mason Verger. When Verger was a young man busted for raping children, his vast wealth saved him from jail. All he needed was psychotherapy–with Dr. Lecter. Thanks to the treatment, Verger is now on a respirator, paralyzed except for one crablike hand, watching his enormous, brutal moray eel swim figure eights and devour fish. His obsession is to feed Lecter to some other brutal pets.”

#58 – Added February 7, 2016
Same as the one above.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 09.44.09Hannibal Rising

“Hannibal Lecter emerges from the nightmare of the Eastern Front, a boy in the snow, mute, with a chain around his neck. He seems utterly alone, but he has brought his demons with him. Hannibal’s uncle, a noted painter, finds him in a Soviet orphanage and brings him to France, where Hannibal will live with his uncle and his uncle’s beautiful and exotic wife, Lady Murasaki. Lady Murasaki helps Hannibal to heal. With her help he flourishes, becoming the youngest person ever admitted to medical school in France. But Hannibal’s demons visit him and torment him. When he is old enough, he visits them in turn. He discovers he has gifts beyond the academic, and in that epiphany, Hannibal Lecter becomes death’s prodigy.”

#59 – Added February 7, 2016
Same as the ones above.
Verdict: REMOVE

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 09.47.26The Dead House

“Part-psychological thriller, part urban legend, this is an unsettling narrative made up of diary entries, interview transcripts, film footage transcripts and medical notes. Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High burned down. Three people were killed and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. Now a diary has been found in the ruins of the school. The diary belongs to Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s identical twin sister. But Carly didn’t have a twin… Re-opened police records, psychiatric reports, transcripts of video footage and fragments of diary reveal a web of deceit and intrigue, violence and murder, raising a whole lot more questions than it answers. Who was Kaitlyn and why did she only appear at night? Did she really exist or was she a figment of a disturbed mind? What were the illicit rituals taking place at the school? And just what did happen at Elmbridge in the events leading up to ‘the Johnson Incident’? Chilling, creepy and utterly compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is one of those very special books that finds all the dark places in your imagination, and haunts you long after you’ve finished reading.”

#60 – Added February 10, 2016
It sounds thrilling and unique. It has received lots of good reviews so I’m excited to read it!
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist)

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56Total Amount of Books Removed: 30 out of 60

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 17.20.56Schermafbeelding 2017-07-09 om 16.28.18
Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

3 thoughts on “Declutter that TBR Pile (56-60) | Removing 3 Books

  1. I thought ACOTAR wasn’t that good, but it seems like the entire world loves it so maybe my opinion is one of few… But if you don’t try, you’ll never know.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Still impressed by this! I feel like I really need to read ACOTAR because it’s soooo well loved. But I feel like I know it’s so well-loved that I’ll go in with too-high expectations and be disappointed. Maybe I’ll read it in a year when the hype dies down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

