10 Things That Boost my Intrest in a Book | Top Ten Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday.png

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by @TheBrokeAndTheBookish. The aim is to make a list fitting the weekly theme. The goal for this list is naming 10 things, but more or less is allowed. They also encourage you to take a different spin on their topics so they fit your own listing needs.

This Week’s Theme is “Instant Reads”

“Basically any topic or theme or ANYTHING (ie if X person recommends it) that will make you instantly want to pick up a book. My list will likely be called Jamie-bait because there are certain things you can say in a summary or a review that will just instantly draw me to it!”

This post is a day late because of wifi problems, sorry!

Schermafbeelding 2017-06-15 om 20.38.52

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-19 om 09.35.26.png
1. Covers with bright colors & pretty lettering

Let’s be honest, we all fall for beautiful covers. I love so many different types of covers but my downfall is definitely bright colors and pretty lettering. Something about these kinds of covers just makes me feel like I need to own them, even if the synopsis doesn’t sound that interesting. 

2. Standalones

I am a pretty slow reader, so I appreciate it when authors give me a story I can read in one book. I get that with some stories, especially in fantasy, it’s just impossible to keep it all to one book. However, I get put off by series in general because it’s much more of a time commitment and I feel like some series are very dragged out. So when I see that a book is a standalone, I am instantly more interested in it.

3. Short Books

Similarly to the last point, I like books in a nice little package. It means I won’t need to dedicate an insane amount of time to reading that one book. shorter books mean I can read more books in the same amount of time/pages.

4. Short Chapters

I looooove it when a book has very small chapters. I often read whenever I have to wait for a little while, which means I often read for short periods. However, I hate putting a book down in the middle of a chapter. When books have very small chapters its easier to read one more chapter. When a book has long chapters I’m like “I can’t read that many pages now, so I’ll just stop here. So I feel like short chapters make me read more. 

5. Multiple Point of Views

Something about getting to switch from one side of the story to the other just intrigues me. I think what I love about it is that you often leave someone’s perspective on a cliffhanger, and you have to wait to find out what happened to the person until you’ve read the chapter from the other perspective. I love the suspense! The downside is that sometimes you will start liking one perspective more than the other, but I guess that’s the price we have to pay.

6. Second Person Point of View

Unfortunately, this perspective isn’t used very often. The book I experienced it was Human Acts by Han Kang (which I haven’t finished yet). In second person the author uses ‘You’ instead of “I” or “He/She”. Stories told from this perspective are directed at you, which make it feel very personal. I can’t really explain it, it’s such a unique experience.

7. Male Perspective

This one is a little strange. For some reason, I seem to like male perspectives more than female perspectives. It’s especially noticeable when I read books with multiple points of view because I always end up liking the male perspective more. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that the romance elements are often less prominent in the male perspective. I really don’t know. All I know is that I am instantly more intrigued if a story is wholly or partly told through a male perspective. 

8. Villian Perspective

I don’t think I need to explain myself here. Reading from the villain, the murderer, the monster is so interesting! It offers such a different experience.

9. Diversity

Reading diversely is important to me, not only because I want representation for everyone, but also because I am interested in reading from variating perspectives so I can have a well-rounded view of the world. I’m glad the importance of diversity in books is getting more attention lately. When the synopsis of a book mentions any form of diversity it immediately peeks my interest.

10. Mental Illness

Since I’m studying to be a professional in the field of psychology, I am instantly interested in a book when it mentions any type of discussion of mental illness. I want to read everything that could help me get more insight. GIVE IT TO ME!

Schermafbeelding 2017-06-15 om 20.38.52Schermafbeelding 2017-04-13 om 10.45.35

With which of these do you agree?
Which of these is completely different for you?

12 thoughts on “10 Things That Boost my Intrest in a Book | Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

