Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole.png

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist‘ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 10.06.13The Impossible Knife of Memory

“For the past five years, Hayley Kincain and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own. Will being back home help Andy’s PTSD, or will his terrible memories drag him to the edge of hell, and drugs push him over?”

#51 – Added January 27, 2016
It sounds pretty unique and seems to discuss some topics I would like to read about. But then I read “the hot guy who obviously likes her”. UGH.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 10.04.51I Was Here

“Cody and Meg were inseparable. Two peas in a pod. Until… they weren’t anymore. When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.”

#52 – Added January 27, 2016
This is something I would like to read some day, I think? I’m not sure. Maybe if I ever get in a mood for it. I don’t see myself picking it up anytime soon though. I also think I would try another book by Gale Forman before I would try this one.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 10.08.43It's Kind of a Funny Story

“Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself. Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.”

#53 – Added January 27, 2016
I really want to read another book set in a mental health facility. I feel like those are kind of a hit or miss with me. But this one sounds great!
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist folder)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 10.07.22The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

“Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.”

#45 – Added January 27, 2016
This is a paranormal romance, right? Not really my thing. I’ve also heard over and over how people don’t like the last book in the series.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 10.03.58The Book Thief

“It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery… Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.”

#55 – Added January 27, 2016
I already own this book. The perspective being death is what intrigues me most about this book. It seems to be a very well-loved book in the community.
Verdict: KEEP (To be read folder)


Total amount of books removed so far: 27 out of 55


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41 Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

6 thoughts on “Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. This is a great idea! My TBR shelf on Goodreads is ridiculously long, and I there are a ton of books on there I want to read (one being The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer) that I just have a feeling I won’t ever get to… but alas, I think you have better control than I do because I can’t see myself actually removing these books!

    Beastly is actually one of the books I would have removed once upon a time, thinking I’d never actually get to it. But after seeing the new Beauty and the Beast adaptation, I really wanted to read it. So for me, I just never know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

