Why I’m no Longer Afraid of DNF’ing | We Should Talk

1

TO DNF OR NOT TO DNF

When you DNF a book, you Do Not Finish it. For many readers and bloggers, including me, this is a pretty scary thing and a big deal. DNF’ing a book is a huge step. DNF’ing is giving up. DNF’ing is accepting that you have wasted your time on reading only a part of the book. These are some of my thoughts and feelings towards DNF’ing. But am I right?

I don’t think so. DNF’ing a book doesn’t have to mean you absolutely hated it. It also doesn’t have to mean you will never get back to it later. It simply means that for whatever reason, you Did Not Finish it right now. You can choose to DNF something just because it isn’t the right time, and that is perfectly fine.

Because of my previous attitude towards DNF’ing, I have been keeping a “Currently Reading On Hold” shelf on my Goodreads. If that isn’t being in denial, I don’t know what is. Having this shelf on Goodreads was the worst thing I could have possibly done. It made me constantly aware of the unfinished business I had left. The books were looming over me, whispering “you have to read usss… come read usss”. It made me feel like I couldn’t pick up any new books I was actually excited for because I had to finish these first. It made me read even more slowly than I usually do because I was reading stuff I didn’t feel like reading. It was terrible.

I say NO MORE! From now on, I will be DNF’ing books when I don’t feel like reading them!

Schermafbeelding 2017-06-11 om 23.10.14

THE FIRST VICTIMS

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-10 om 10.27.01

I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes (at 13%)
I have this on audiobook and it’s almost 23 hours long. I tried getting back into listening to it at least 10 times but I just couldn’t. Maybe it’s this audiobook in particular, maybe it’s audiobooks in general. I just couldn’t keep my focus on it and was feeling bored.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (at 45%)
This one hurts a little more because I have put so much effort into reading this. I have picked it up so many times. It’s just that I can’t read many pages of this at a time. I felt disconnected and bored because there is barely any dialogue. I think I will give it another shot someday.

Red Dragon by Thomas Harris (at 26%)
This one is painful because my boyfriend bought me all 4 books in this series. I am still interested in it but the writing makes it feel a little dense. I’m just not ready for it.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (at 17%)
This one is mostly due to timing. Science-fiction isn’t something I normally read and I was a little confused about what was going on. I’m sure I’ll try again though. Maybe in my summer break.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey (at 11%)
This one is not what I expected it to be. For some reason I didn’t know it was about zombies, and those aren’t really my thing. I’ve heard people say this one is very unique and creepy, so I do still want to read it. But it just didn’t grab my attention enough in this first bit.

Human Acts by Han Kang (at 33%)
This one is very painful again. I put a lot of effort in, it was a really touching read so far. It’s just told in a strange format and also pretty heavy. It isn’t the right time.

Schermafbeelding 2017-06-11 om 23.10.14Schermafbeelding 2017-06-25 om 20.30.01Do you ever DNF books?
How do you feel about my thoughts?

9 thoughts on “Why I’m no Longer Afraid of DNF’ing | We Should Talk

  1. It’s taken me a long time to get over my guilt (most of it anyway) when I DNF a book. As a writer I always feel bad that there was an author who toiled over this. But if I’m just not connecting, I’m just not. If that is the case, I probably won’t pick it back up. But I have had books that I LIKED but I knew I needed a clearer head or more time to devote to it, and I did go back.
    My personal, completely arbitrary, rule is 50 pages. I will give your book 50 pages to snag me. After that, I feel it is fair to put aside.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

