Removing 4 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole-2.png

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist‘ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 11.10.37This Center Cannot Hold

“Saks was only eight, and living an otherwise idyllic childhood in sunny 1960s Miami, when her first symptoms appeared in the form of obsessions and night terrors. But it was not until she reached Oxford University as a Marshall Scholar that her first full-blown episode, complete with voices in her head and terrifying suicidal fantasies, forced her into a psychiatric hospital. Saks would later attend Yale Law School where one night, during her first term, she had a breakdown that left her singing on the roof of the law school library at midnight. She was taken to the emergency room, force-fed antipsychotic medication, and tied hand-and-foot to the cold metal of a hospital bed. She spent the next five months in a psychiatric ward. So began Saks’s long war with her own internal demons and the equally powerful forces of stigma. Today she is a chaired professor of law who researches and writes about the rights of the mentally ill. She is married to a wonderful man.”

#46 – Added January 25, 2016
This is another one of those books I know I will get to some day. I think it will be very important and useful for me to read nonfiction books like this about psychology. Books like this will give me more insight into the field I will be working in. However, I don’t think I will be reading this anytime soon. I’m reading textbooks about these topics for uni already and I don’t feel like reading non-fiction in my free time right now.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 11.14.24I Never Promised You a Rose Garden.jpg

“I Never Promised You a Rose Garden is the story of a sixteen-year-old who retreats from reality into the bondage of a lushly imagined but threatening kingdom, and her slow and painful journey back to sanity. Chronicles the three-year battle of a mentally ill, but perceptive, teenage girl against a world of her own creation, emphasizing her relationship with the doctor who gave her the ammunition of self-understanding with which to help herself.”


#47 – Added January 25, 2016
Another book featuring mental illness, but this one is fiction. I have heard great things about the representation in this one so I am optimistic. I’m on the hunt for fiction novels about psychology that don’t involve a romance.
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist folder)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 11.24.27.pngMade You Up.jpg

“Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.”

#48 – Added January 25, 2016
I was really excited about this book, but then I read some negative reviews. One of these reviews was written by a psychology student who argued that the author seems uneducated about schizophrenia. He gave some examples of things that he felt were bad representation for the illness and for professional help. Like not following through with treatment to please the love interest. Maybe I’ll read it someday but I feel put off by it right now.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 11.25.38The 5th Wave

“After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.”

#49 – Added January 25, 2016
I think I only added this book because of the hype. I’m not a fan of aliens. I’m not a fan of romance. I don’t think I would be a fan of this book.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 11.26.33Shatter Me

“Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color. The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now. Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.”

#50 – Added January 25, 2016
Again, I added it because of the hype and I don’t think I would enjoy this. If I’d want to pick up something by Tahereh Mafi I think I would probably go for Furthermore.
Verdict: REMOVE


Total amount of books removed so far: 24 out of 50


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

 

Leave a Reply

