Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole-4

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist‘ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 13.34.50The Hundered Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Dissapeared

“It all starts on the one-hundredth birthday of Allan Karlsson. Sitting quietly in his room in an old people’s home, he is waiting for the party he-never-wanted-anyway to begin. The Mayor is going to be there. The press is going to be there. But, as it turns out, Allan is not… Slowly but surely Allan climbs out of his bedroom window, into the flowerbed (in his slippers) and makes his getaway. And so begins his picaresque and unlikely journey involving criminals, several murders, a suitcase full of cash, and incompetent police. As his escapades unfold, we learn something of Allan’s earlier life in which – remarkably – he helped to make the atom bomb, became friends with American presidents, Russian tyrants, and Chinese leaders, and was a participant behind the scenes in many key events of the twentieth century.”

#41 – Added January 25, 2016
I think there was a lot of buzz about this book a while ago. It caught my attention mainly because of the insanely long title. I added it because it’s supposed to be a funny, light-hearted, fast read. Yet I’ve seen a lot of reviews saying it isn’t really that funny. It has also gotten a lot of critique for being very unrealistic and crazy. For some people that might actually be fun but I’m guessing I’ll probably get annoyed by it.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 13.38.17The Things We Keep

“Anna Forster, in the early stages of Alzheimer’s disease at only thirty-eight years old, knows that her family is doing what they believe to be best when they take her to Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. She also knows there’s just one other resident her age, Luke. What she does not expect is the love that blossoms between her and Luke even as she resists her new life at Rosalind House. As her disease steals more and more of her memory, Anna fights to hold on to what she knows, including her relationship with Luke. When Eve Bennett is suddenly thrust into the role of single mother she finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind house. When she meets Anna and Luke she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna’s and Luke’s families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them.”

#42 – Added January 25, 2016
I am a little afraid of this one because it’s a mental illness book centered around a developing romance and we all know how much I disliked how that played out in All the Bright Places (Review). But I still have high hopes for this one. I have been wanting to read another book about Alzheimer’s Disease since I was so moved by the last one I read. The author left a review on Goodreads where she explains how this book came to be, which has made me more excited to read this!
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist folder)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 13.37.23The Sound of Gravel

“Ruth Wariner was the thirty-ninth of her father’s forty-two children. Growing up on a farm in rural Mexico, where authorities turned a blind eye to the practices of her community, Ruth lives in a ramshackle house without indoor plumbing or electricity. At church, preachers teach that God will punish the wicked by destroying the world and that women can only ascend to Heaven by entering into polygamous marriages and giving birth to as many children as possible. After Ruth’s father–the man who had been the founding prophet of the colony–is brutally murdered by his brother in a bid for church power, her mother remarries, becoming the second wife of another faithful congregant. In need of government assistance and supplemental income, Ruth and her siblings are carted back and forth between Mexico and the United States, where her mother collects welfare and her step-father works a variety of odd jobs. Ruth comes to love the time she spends in the States, realizing that perhaps the community into which she was born is not the right one for her. As Ruth begins to doubt her family’s beliefs and question her mother’s choices, she struggles to balance her fierce love for her siblings with her determination to forge a better life for herself.”

#43 – Added January 25, 2016
The fact that it’s a book about living in a polygamist cult is enough for me to want to read it. Doesn’t that just sound so interesting? I love reading about controversial topics and things I personally don’t understand.
Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist folder)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 13.39.45In a Different Key

“Nearly seventy-five years ago, Donald Triplett of Forest, Mississippi became the first child diagnosed with autism. Beginning with his family’s odyssey, In a Different Key tells the extraordinary story of this often misunderstood condition, and of the civil rights battles waged by the families of those who have it. Unfolding over decades, it is a beautifully rendered history of ordinary people determined to secure a place in the world for those with autism—by liberating children from dank institutions, campaigning for their right to go to school, challenging expert opinion on what it means to have autism, and persuading society to accept those who are different. It is the story of women like Ruth Sullivan, who rebelled against a medical establishment that blamed cold and rejecting “refrigerator mothers” for causing autism; and of fathers who pushed scientists to dig harder for treatments. Many others played starring roles too: doctors like Leo Kanner, who pioneered our understanding of autism; lawyers like Tom Gilhool, who took the families’ battle for education to the courtroom; scientists who sparred over how to treat autism; and those with autism, like Temple Grandin, Alex Plank, and Ari Ne’eman, who explained their inner worlds and championed the philosophy of neurodiversity. This is also a story of fierce controversies—from the question of whether there is truly an autism “epidemic,” and whether vaccines played a part in it; to scandals involving “facilitated communication,” one of many treatments that have proved to be blind alleys; to stark disagreements about whether scientists should pursue a cure for autism. There are dark turns too: we learn about experimenters feeding LSD to children with autism, or shocking them with electricity to change their behavior; and the authors reveal compelling evidence that Hans Asperger, discoverer of the syndrome named after him, participated in the Nazi program that consigned disabled children to death.”

#34 – Added January 25, 2016
I WILL read this one day. But could I see myself reading it this next year? No. It does seem like a very educational read about autism, which is why I WILL read it one day. Right now I just feel would rather read a novel than a non-fiction book about this topic. I’m just not ready. I already have so many non-fiction textbooks I need to read on these topics for uni.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 13.36.34A Beautiful Mind

“Stories of famously eccentric Princetonians abound–such as that of chemist Hubert Alyea, the model for The Absent-Minded Professor, or Ralph Nader, said to have had his own key to the library as an undergraduate. Or the “Phantom of Fine Hall,” a figure many students had seen shuffling around the corridors of the math and physics building wearing purple sneakers and writing numerology treatises on the blackboards. The Phantom was John Nash, one of the most brilliant mathematicians of his generation, who had spiraled into schizophrenia in the 1950s. His most important work had been in game theory, which by the 1980s was underpinning a large part of economics. When the Nobel Prize committee began debating a prize for game theory, Nash’s name inevitably came up–only to be dismissed, since the prize clearly could not go to a madman. But in 1994 Nash, in remission from schizophrenia, shared the Nobel Prize in economics for work done some 45 years previously.”

#45 – Added January 25, 2016
I have seen the movie… twice. The movie is beautiful. I still want to read the book someday but I feel like I should prioritize new stories and other books about mental illness.
Verdict: REMOVE


Total amount of books removed so far: 20 out of 45


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

 

3 thoughts on “Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. I have read The Hundred-year-old Man who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared and though I have to admit it is highly unrealistic, it is really fun (at least I thought it was). I’ve also read Hitman Anders and the Meaning of it All, and The girl who Saved the King of Sweden (by the same author), but I think I liked The Hundred-year-old man (…) best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe I should still give it a go someday if I’m feeling like reading something fun and a little bit more out there. I am curious to see how I would feel about it, considering I’m normally easily annoyed by unrealistic books (unless it’s fantasy or something). Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

