Removing 1 Book from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole-5

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist‘ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 15.16.59The Opposite of Happiness

“Marina Keegan’s star was on the rise when she graduated magna cum laude from Yale in May 2012. She had a play that was to be produced at the New York International Fringe Festival and a job waiting for her at the New Yorker. Tragically, five days after graduation, Marina died in a car crash. As her family, friends, and classmates, deep in grief, joined to create a memorial service for Marina, her unforgettable last essay for the Yale Daily News, “The Opposite of Loneliness,” went viral, receiving more than 1.4 million hits. She had struck a chord. Even though she was just twenty-two when she died, Marina left behind a rich, expansive trove of prose that, like her title essay, captures the hope, uncertainty, and possibility of her generation. The Opposite of Loneliness is an assem­blage of Marina’s essays and stories that, like The Last Lecture, articulates the universal struggle that all of us face as we figure out what we aspire to be and how we can harness our talents to make an impact on the world.”

#36 – Added January 25, 2016
I have never read an essay collection in my life. This book mostly stood out to me because of the tragic story behind it. I find it such a beautiful thing that this book exists. That we are fortunate enough to still get to hear her voice. I am excited to find out how I feel about her work and essays in general.
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 15.15.52Easy

“When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life. Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night – but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound. When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.”

#37 – Added January 25, 2016
I was on the verge of removing this because it’s romance. But so many people say it has lots of character development and an important message. I feel like it’s something I should read because I haven’t read a book that deals with (sexual) assault yet.
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 15.14.13The Glass Castle

“When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.”

#38 – Added January 25, 2016
Ehh… Maybe someday… right now it sounds a little boring to me. Memoirs aren’t really my thing.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 15.25.01And Then There Were None

“First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.”

#39 – Added January 25, 2016
I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I saw a parody of the story on an episode of South Park. Anyone…?
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-26 om 15.15.07Red Queen

“This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.”

#40 – Added January 25, 2016
I have been hearing this book is underwhelming and full of tropes. All these ‘meh’ reviews have made me a lot less excited to read this book. I already own it so I feel like I should at least give it a fair shot.
Verdict: KEEP (to be read)


Total amount of books removed so far: 17 out of 40


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

9 thoughts on “Removing 1 Book from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

      1. So glad you decided to keep this one. It’s really good. I listened to the audiobook and it was such a great reading experience. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This meme is such a great idea!! I’m glad you decided to keep The Opposite of Loneliness because it’s a really great collection. Some essays/stories stand out more than others, but there are a few that still stick with me today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read both Easy and Red Queen and I think I enjoyed them about the same, they both got a 4 star rating from me when I first read them! I was also apparently quite intrigued by how Lucas was described in the book! 2012 was the year I really liked the ‘bad boy’ type of appearance. xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

