High Goodreads Ratings | Searching Saturday #17

Searching Saturday is a weekly meme created by me! The aim is to search a book (or multiple books) that is new-to-you and fits the weekly theme. This could be a book to add to your TBR, or just to address on your blog. It’s up to you! You can search as many as you want, wherever you want.
You can find more information in the Introduction Post.

For a list of all past and future topics, go here.

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 14.04.28.png

Personally, I do not pay too much attention to the average Goodreads rating when researching a book. Though I do think it’s interesting to see which books get a high rating. This week we are judging books by these ratings. Search for books with a Goodreads rating of 4.00 or higher.

searching-saturday-deviderSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 13.58.25.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 14.09.24

This book has an average Goodreads rating of 4.08. It caught my eye because of the beautiful colors on the cover. It seems like a pretty interesting, diverse read. I have never read a book set in Vietnam before. I don’t know how much of the book is actually set in Vietnam, but I’m sure it will have lots of information about culture anyways. It’s also historical fiction and poetry, which are two genres I don’t usually reach for. I’d like to read from even more different genres than I already do. I’m not sure if the poetry bit will be for me but I want to give it a try.

searching-saturday-deviderSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 13.58.11.pngSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 14.09.24

This book has an average Goodreads rating of 4.14 stars. It’s a little bit of a cheat because I had heard of it before. I was browsing through the popular graphic novels page and saw it. For some reason, I never actually looked into it after hearing great things about it. So technically it’s a rediscovered book. This book just sounds magical and awesome. I have discovered graphic novels and manga last year. I can’t get enough of it now!

searching-saturday-deviderSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 21.01.10

I will be linking other posts on this topic as they pop up, so make sure I see yours!

@RomWeasley | @ToBeRead | @SanneInBookLand | @ReadingBetweenOceans

searching-saturday-deviderSchermafbeelding 2017-03-11 om 21.22.10

8 thoughts on “High Goodreads Ratings | Searching Saturday #17

  1. I haven’t heard of any of the books you mentioned but I am definitely going to look into them further and see if I want to add them to my TBR too!

    I will usually take at least a look at the rating but I don’t think it has ever influenced whether I picked a book up or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

