Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

3.png

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, It’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist‘ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-27 om 00.22.13The Winner's Curse.jpg

“Winning what you want may cost you everything you love… As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.”

#31 – Added January 25, 2016
I really don’t know about this one. I’ve heard its a really fast read and has a pretty interesting government situation. But it’s still a YA, fantasy, romance type thing. I have lots of those on my TBR. I’m sure I’ll get to it someday… but I don’t think I will anytime soon.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-27 om 00.26.07Bird Box.jpg

“Something is out there, something terrifying that must not be seen. One glimpse of it, and a person is driven to deadly violence. No one knows what it is or where it came from. Five years after it began, a handful of scattered survivors remains, including Malorie and her two young children. Living in an abandoned house near the river, she has dreamed of fleeing to a place where they might be safe. Now that the boy and girl are four, it’s time to go, but the journey ahead will be terrifying: twenty miles downriver in a rowboat–blindfolded–with nothing to rely on but her wits and the children’s trained ears. One wrong choice and they will die. Something is following them all the while, but is it man, animal, or monster?”

#32 – Added January 25, 2016
This is such an easy one. It was on my list of books I would buy right now if I could. Everybody seems to love it and the synopsis sounds so unique!
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-27 om 00.31.16.pngForbidden Alternative Cover

“She is pretty and talented – sweet sixteen and never been kissed. He is seventeen; gorgeous and on the brink of a bright future. And now they have fallen in love. But… they are brother and sister. Seventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As defacto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right. As the novel careens toward an explosive and shocking finale, only one thing is certain: a love this devastating has no happy ending.”

#33 – Added January 25, 2016
Another easy one because I already own this book. I like reading about controversial topics and thinks I don’t understand. I’m curious to see how this book will make me feel.
Verdict: KEEP (to be read)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-27 om 00.35.34Thicker Than Water

“On his own. Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect. Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years. The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers. Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…”

#34 – Added January 25, 2016
Meh… I think I lost interest. That synopsis doesn’t really sound appealing to me anymore.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-27 om 00.37.06My Heart & Other Black Holes

“Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness. There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.”

#35 – Added January 25, 2016
I remember wanting to read this so much. It once was high up on my TBR. I might still read it someday but for now, I’m staying away from romance books that deal with depression and suicide. Since I found All the Bright Places so problematic.
Verdict: REMOVE


Total amount of books removed so far: 16 out of 35


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41
Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my choices?

10 thoughts on “Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. I really like your graphics! Mine are such a mess.. I plan on reading The Winner’s Curse because I already own the book but I’m not that excited for it, I’m hoping it won’t be too much romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to read My Heart and Other Black Holes AND All the Bright Places! I had been pick up Thirteen Reasons why lately but I don’t know if I’m up to such a depressing book (as you mentioned haha).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

