Removing 2 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

2

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already, ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon, and ‘After’ are books I want to read that I’m less eager to get to.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, It’s going for now. I’m trying to get both my ‘Wishlist’ and ‘After’ folder down to 100 books.


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-28 om 00.46.06.pngI'll Give You the sun

“At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world.”

#26 – Added January 25, 2016
I feel iffy about this book just because it’s romance and the synopsis makes it sound pretty cheesy. But I’ve heard so many wonderful things, even from people who don’t usually enjoy romance either.
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-28 om 00.50.13.pngThe Knife of Never Letting Go.jpg

“Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives. But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?”

#27 – Added January 25, 2016
The premise of this book has always sounded really unique and interesting to me. On the other side, I have heard many people don’t enjoy the slang used in this. I think I’ll read A Monster Called first and see how I like that first. I don’t want to keep multiple books by an author I haven’t read yet.
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-28 om 01.06.22Angelfall

“It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel. Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl. Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.”

#28 – Added January 25, 2016
Even though paranormal fantasy Isn’t a genre I read very often and I’m not sure how I feel about the whole angel thing. I have heard this book is creepy too and for some reason, I really gravitate towards this book.
Verdict: KEEP (wishlist)


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-28 om 01.03.12Wonder

“I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse. August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?”

#29 – Added January 25, 2016
Meh… I think I lost interest.  I haven’t had the best experiences with books told from the perspective of a young boy. Maybe that’s the problem…?
Verdict: REMOVE


Schermafbeelding 2017-06-28 om 01.01.46The Raven Boys

“It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive. Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble. But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little. For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.”

#30 – Added January 25, 2016
I already own this book. The story sounds very unique. Everybody loves it. I read a little bit of it a while back and liked it. Easy.
Verdict: KEEP (to be read)


Total amount of books removed so far: 13 out of 30


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41 Are any of these still on your TBR?
How do you feel about my decisions?

11 thoughts on “Removing 2 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

      1. It was definitely the writing style for me. It just felt, forgive the pun, too chaotic. I think with I’ll Give You the Sun, I also wasn’t a big fan of the writing. It made me feel a bit detached, so I didn’t really grow to care about the characters which in a contemporary is difficult for me. But a lot of people adore her writing, so it’s really personal!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I actually read Angelfall a couple of years ago and it was unlike anything I had read before. I think Angelfall was only the second book I ever read that dealt with angels (other than the Unearthly trilogy) and I seem to remember that I really enjoyed it! I just haven’t picked up book two for some reason..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I honestly have no idea! I would have to re-read Angelfall first and I don’t see that happening any time soon especially since there are other books I want to read more!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

