Removing 2 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole-5.png

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already and ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983
List number:
#16

Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Yes

The premise of this sounds very interesting to me BUT I’m kind of turned off by the hype. Also, I think it might not be my thing because of the romance? Meh..

Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29
The Kite Runner by Khaled Housseini

51M3Kl80Z+L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_
List number: #17
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Yes

I’ve watched the movie adaptation of this about 3 years ago to analyze it for art/film class, so I ended up watching it twice. I want to read this someday when I don’t remember anything of it. Which won’t be anytime soon.

Verdict: KEEP (Wishlist)

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

18144590
List number: #18
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: vaguely

Like I said before, I’m trying to cut down on classics because I’m not enjoying reading any at the time. Some day I will try to get to a bunch of classics but not anytime soon.

Verdict: GO

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707.png
List number: #19
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Only that it’s a feminist novel

I feel like I should let go of this one too, for now because of the same reason listed above. BUT I also feel like I should read a feminist novel. But maybe I should go for something like “We Should All Be Feminists”.

Verdict: GO

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

18143977
List number: #20
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Kind of

I want to try out some more historical fiction and I usually really enjoy stories told from multiple perspectives. Also, my best friend owns this book so I can borrow it from her!

Verdict: KEEP

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29Total amount of books removed so far: 8 out of 20

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 12.14.29Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Have you read any of these books?
How do you feel about my decisions?

9 thoughts on “Removing 2 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

Leave a Reply

