Why Romance Isn’t My Thing | Top 10 Tuesday #2

 

T10T 02
Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by @TheBrokeAndTheBookish. The aim is to make a list fitting the weekly topic. The goal for this list is naming 10 things, but more or less is allowed. They also encourage you to take a different spin on their topics so they fit your listing needs.

This week’s topic is “All about romance tropes/types”

“Top ten favorite hate-to-love romances (from books or movies or tv), top ten favorite (or least favorite) instalove romances, favorite slow-burn romances, favorite starcrossed lovers, etc. etc. Can go so many ways with this one).”

Happy valentines! Because romance really isn’t my thing, I decided on something a little bit different. I will be giving you a list of reasons why romance isn’t for me/what I find strange about romance in books.

Disclaimer:
Please don’t take any of this to heart. I’m not trying to make fun of romance as a genre, or anyone who enjoys romance. I’m also not saying these things happen in every romance book. I am just sharing some things I have noticed when reading romance. This is just for fun!

schermafbeelding-2017-02-05-om-14-10-20

1. Weird descriptions

I find that authors often use really weird descriptions for romantic scenes. “His kiss felt like a thousand summer suns. His touch was like the rain”. What does that mean?! Please tell me what a thousand summer suns feel like. Of course, metaphors can be incredibly beautiful. Yet sometimes they are just ridiculous. 

2. Nothing else matters

When the love interest starts getting into play, every other thing that is happening in the world is no longer significant. The world is ending? My house is burning? Look at those dreamy eyes and those muscles… so pretty. Nothing else in the world matters anymore. NO!

3. Everything is a mystery

All of the sudden, the main character no longer capable of understanding straightforward situations. Everything becomes a complete mystery. Every action by the love interest is an extremely difficult puzzle we have to solve. What is happening? Why did he/she do that? WHAT DOES IT MEAN?! 

4. Error. No other thoughts found

Kind of going hand in hand with the last one. All thoughts are consumed by the love interest. Maybe the main character still has other people around you that pop into their thoughts? Friends? Family? Hobbies you love? School? Work? Maybe think about what’s for dinner tonight? ANY other thought than him/her? No… Okay.

5. Love triangles

This is a thing. Because why would we only create one swoon-worthy guy/girl if we could have two! I love how the main character often talks about how hard the situation is and how he/she doesn’t see how to get out of it. How about choosing one of them? Seriously, why do they never just choose and be straight forward with the other person?! Don’t keep both of them hanging. Jeez. Grow a pair. 

6. Instalove

This also a thing. Hey I just met you… and this is crazy… but you are perfect… please have my babies! I mean, come on people. At least have a conversation first.

7. Unrealistically sweet and romantic people.

Yes, people in real life can be sweet and romantic too. But who is that perfect all the damn time? Who constantly makes grand, romantic gestures? Nobody, that’s the answer! Everyone has days where he/she is an ass. Stop setting unrealistic expectations people!

8. Unrealistically perfect intimate scenes

Again, related to the previous one. With intimate scenes I mean kissing, sex, and everything in between. Why do these things always go so flawlessly? Why does nobody ever bump their teeth into each other when kissing? Why is sex never awkward? Again, creating unrealistic expectations.

9. Annoying people

I don’t even have a clear reason for this one. In so many romance books I just can’t stand some character(s). They just annoy me so much. With everything they do, I’m just like UGH. How am I supposed to care about these two people being together if I don’t even like the love interest? 

10. Romanticizing serious problems

We’ll end on a little more of a serious note. This is one thing that actually upsets me that happens in romance a lot. It doesn’t matter if it’s a mental illness, a physical disability, rape, or any other serious matter. Making these things sound desirable is just wrong to me. “Here we have two people with a depression. Now they’re in love, how cuuute!”. “Here we have someone who is being treated horribly by their partner. But it’s fine because he/she is just a little bit of a badboy/girl” Nonono. just stop! That’s not okay.

schermafbeelding-2017-02-05-om-14-10-20
How do you feel about my reasons?
Do you relate to any of these?

PS: If you have any romance recommendations that don’t have these elements. Please let me know!

21 thoughts on “Why Romance Isn’t My Thing | Top 10 Tuesday #2

  1. All of the above! I’m not a huge fan of romantic plotlines, and rarely find myself enjoying them. I tried to do top 10 favourite relationships for the theme, but I couldn’t even come up with 10 I liked. I love your list, you pretty much put my feelings into words.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. hahaha!! Love your list! I’m a big fan of romances but your list definitely made me laugh and I could relate. I 100% agree with #10. That drives me insane. I’ve read so many books that had men displaying abusive behavior (emotional or boderline physical) and they just play it off as him having a temper. No, just no.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like your top ten tuesday, I’m not a fan of romance at all. I generally skip over those scenes xD I loved point one and two. I never thought about one before but it makes sense, what does a rain kiss feel like xD?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh. Yes. All of the above. I hate it, too, when I pick up a book that sounds NOTHING ROMANCEY from the summary, and then on page three: “Eleanor flushed as she watched her handsome best friend, surrounded by beautiful girls. She loved him so much, but he’d never notice her.”. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I must admit I do enjoy the simplicity sometimes, but then these things end up getting on my nerves. And yes! All the covers with people on them don’t look appealing to me at all. Thank you on the header compliment! I didn’t draw it myself though, I just put it together. 😄

        Like

  5. Great post! I think I wouldn’t mind romance as much if the couples were at least diverse. I’m honestly tired of reading about two white cishet able-bodied people falling in love. Still, authors do tend to include the same romance tropes over and over again and I’m not a fan of those clichés.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A lot of these reasons can be counted as bad writing … that happens to be very common in romantic fiction. The 10th reason is especially bad – some romances in books and movies feel more like the man is just waiting to murder her because of how stalker-ish he’s written. 4 is a big one took especially if the romance seems to fix their lives. If you’re not the least bit happy without a relationship, why would your life suddenly be perfect with one?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

