Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

3

This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already and ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.


The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien

9780547928210_p0_v1_s260x420
List number: #11
Date added: January 24, 2016

Remember the premise: Yes

I’m not sure if I’ll ever read this. If I got a penny for every time I’ve heard someone say that Tolkien is “the type of writer to describe every single blade of grass”. That just doesn’t sound very appealing to me. But the story is so great. The conflict. I’m gonna try to pick up the hobbit first so until then this can go.

Verdict: GO


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows
List number: #12
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Yes

Lately, Six of Crows has popped up on my blog on multiple occasions like in my Young Adult Fantasy On Top of my TBR post. I keep talking about how I want to read this as soon as possible. So need I say more?

Verdict: KEEP


The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

TheGreatGatsby_1925jacket
List number: #13
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Kinda

This one is tough because I am not too good at reading classics, yet I have a lot on my TBR. I want to cut down on them but lots of people actually seem to enjoy this one…

Verdict: KEEP


1984 by George Orwell

1001004005988830
List number: #14
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: Yes

This is a classic I personally think I will like. It seems so interesting to read a book about the future, which has already passed. The topic is also very scary and still relevant. So I’m actually excited to get to this one!

Verdict: KEEP


The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

9780141192642
List number: #15
Date added: January 24, 2016
Remember the premise: No

When I read the synopsis again I was like “Did I ever even read this synopsis?”. I’m not interested in it right now. It doesn’t sound like anything I’d like very much.

Verdict: GO

 


Total amount of books removed so far: 6 out of 15


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Are any of these still on your TBR?
How do you feel about my decisions?

13 thoughts on “Removing 3 Books from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. I have also removed Lord of The Rings from my TBR, I once started but I really couldn’t get any further than 300 pages, it was so slow and all they did was basically walking.
    The Picture Of Dorian Gray is actually one of my favourite classics, but not everybody can like the same books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Have you ever tried reading the hobbit first? I’ve heard that one is a little less dense. Anyways, that series is really is a ‘maybe someday’ book for me.

      As for the picture of Dorian Gray, I think I’ll add it again if I ever get more into classics. But there are some others I would like to get to first!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have not read the Hobbit, but I have not enjoyed any of the LoTR or Hobbit movies and I haven’t liked the LoTR books either so I think it is just not for me.
        I understand!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I also loved the Picture of Dorian Gray. I read it in high school and it was an amazing experience. It’s one I really want to reread, but I’ve found that even though I enjoy classics, sometimes reading them it’s not as fun as it used to be. In school, we used to have great very interesting discussions about the text and such. I miss that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is a great idea, my Goodreads TBR has nearly 1000 books (OUCH!) a spring cleaning is in order. I think I will start with removing anything with love triangles, romance and teen drama.

    Like

  4. I think The Hobbit is a great place to start when entering Tolkien’s world. The language is a lot simpler, and it’s definitely a lot less weighty than LOTR. And I might be biased because I’m a big LOTR fan, but I hope reading the Hobbit makes you want to read the rest. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m going to offer a flip on Fellowship of the Ring – it is *rough* to read. But I’m listening to the audiobook now, and it’s actually quite pleasant that way. 🙂 I want to defend Dorian Gray as well… it’s heavy, but very interesting… a study of narcissism.

    But, ugh, I’d ditch Gatsby. The DiCaprio film was quite good, but the book dragged.

    However, the nice/not nice thing about books is everyone has an opinion! Things can come on and off later and honestly, I shouldn’t talk… my TBR is +500 (oops). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both The Lord of the Rings books and Dorian Gray are books I want to try to read someday, just not anytime soon. I am not really enjoying myself whenever I try to read classics. So I just don’t want to push myself too much and just pick up books that I enjoy right now. Plus I already own a few classics that I need to read first. I’m hoping I will get into reading classics more after reading those, if that makes sense. And since I’m attempting to cut down my TBR they are going, for now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That makes a lot of sense. 🙂 Sometimes it helps to approach different books at a different time of life as well – so if you’re feeling bubbly and fun for example, some of the classics could be a bit of a drag. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

