How I Changed My Rating Scale | Update

Lately, I have been trying to make my blog more organized. One day I was looking at the post I wrote about how I rate books and realized everything has changed. Looking back now, my previous rating scale is very confusing. I actually link back to this post when I do reviews. Which means it is time for an update.

I rate my books based on how much they met my expectations, not how ‘good’ they are. I do this because I think good/bad ratings highly depend on what you want from a book and are therefore subjective. In my reviews, I explain why a book did or didn’t meet my expectations and try to specify which people might like or dislike it.


❤︎ = I dislike this book. This is a book I could barely even get through or is a book I find problematic. 

❤︎ ❤︎ =  It wasn’t for me. My hopes and expectations weren’t met at all. It could be that I just didn’t enjoy the story, characters, writing or some other element that made me dislike it.

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ =  I feel like it was ok for me/ I’m not sure how I feel about this book. My hopes and expectations weren’t really met. This could be because the book was just ok; it had the things I was hoping for but they weren’t executed spectacularly in my opinion. Or it could be because some aspects were really enjoyable but others weren’t at all.

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ =  I liked this book. Most of my hopes and expectations were met. There are things that made me not enjoy it to the fullest. This might be because there are things I would like to change or things I expected but didn’t get. 

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ = I loved this book. It met all hopes and expectations and maybe even exceeded them. I got what I wanted from it.

❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ + = This is a five-star book that also had a big impact on me. These books changed how I view something or the world in general.

I try to fit each book I read within these 6 categories but when I can’t choose I will give a book a .5 rating (for instance if I can’t decide between 4 or 5, I give it a 4.5)


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41How do you rate books?
In which way is it different?

Leave a Reply

