Books I Wish Had Less Nice Covers | Top 10 Tuesday #1

 

T10T 01.jpg
Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by
@TheBrokeAndTheBookish. The aim is to make a list fitting the weekly topic. The goal for this list is naming 10 things, but more or less is allowed. They also encourage you to take a different spin on their topics so they fit your listing needs.

This week’s topic is “Books I Wish Had (More/Less) X In Them”

“Could be top ten books I wish had more diversity in them or top ten books I wish had less violence in them or less romance focus in them or top ten books I wish had more dragons in them. IDK! Have some fun with this one!”

I decided on Less nice covers because this is a SERIOUS problem. Ever so often I find myself wanting to buy a book, just because of the cover, and I am not talking about a ‘cover buy’. I’m talking about not being interested in a book but still feeling like buying it just because of the cover. I’m not saying I will NEVER read any of these books, though I’m not likely to pick these up anytime soon. Unless their covers finally got me.

Some of these might be controversial, some of these might be your favorite book ever.
It’s not you, it’s me. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-02-05 om 14.10.20.png
T10T 01 #2

T10T 01 #1

 

 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, and Passenger by Alexandra Bracken all just seem like they won’t really be my kind of book. Yet another post where disliking romance is forming a pattern. Yet all the covers are so darn beautiful I just want to own them. I found out I have a thing for bright colors and pretty lettering. With all of these books, I have been at a point of almost buying them. 

The Elite by Kiara Cass is a different story. I’ve read The Selection which wasn’t for me (review) so I actually KNOW I won’t like this book. On top of that, I don’t even like covers with people on them. Yet I still feel inclined to buy this. I think it has something to do with how floppy the paperbacks are.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven. Yeah… I’m not picking up another one of Jennifer Niven’s books. I found All the Bright places very problematic. My review for it has been sitting in my drafts for months because I want to explain my feelings the best I can. I will be posting it soon… ish. Anyways, I hate how the cover still makes me want it. Damn colors and lettering!


Fates and Furies by Lauren Croff and Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes are the ones I am most likely to read someday. They just don’t seem THAT interesting to me right now that they are at the top of my TBR. But because of their covers, I keep almost buying them before I buy stuff I actually want to read really bad.

I have lost my interest in The Maze Runner by James Dashner ever since I’ve seen the first two movies. The cover isn’t even that pretty, yet it still calls to me. I have absolutely no idea what my problem is, you tell me! 

schermafbeelding-2017-02-05-om-14-10-20

How do you feel about my picks?
Do you hate me now?

38 thoughts on “Books I Wish Had Less Nice Covers | Top 10 Tuesday #1

  1. Haha, I totally understand you! I get attracted by pretty covers all the time. I used to buy those books immediately when I was younger but it resulted in too many disappointments. Now I am more careful^^ I still pick up pretty books but I read what it’s about and have a look at some reviews first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been dissapointed many times too. The problem with these is that I know I am currently not interested in them, after looking at the synopsis. But STILL it’s like these books are calling me when I’m shopping in a bookstore. Like I have this weird desire to own these books I’m not even interested in, just because of the covers 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally want some books for the covers. lol The MAze Runner almost falls in that category for me, and the
    Shatter Me books all look so nice even if I’d never read em. So yeah this can definitely be a problem!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Covers are definitely the bane of my existence… They’re always a hit or miss thing for me.
    The Lunar Chronicles (Cinder) doesn’t revolve completely around romance so it should be fine. The story is quite interesting if you enjoy fairy tales.
    The Maze Runner series was a complete flop in my book and I couldn’t care less about the movies, so I think those match.
    I did love Falling Kingdoms and if you enjoy fantasy and multiple character POV, you might like it too. Many people compare it to Game of Thrones for teens but I’m not sure it could be classified as such.
    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cinder is the one book I classified as romance that I am still kinda interested in. Though I’m not sure because science fiction really isn’t for me either. And I do want to pick up falling kingdoms after I finish the Game of Thrones books (because I’ve seen them being compared too). Curious to see how much they are actually alike! And thank you so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cinder is hardly sci-fi, I think. Sure, it takes place in space and there are some references but nothing too serious. I would give it a try if I were you 🙂 I enjoyed the second book (Scarlet) a lot more, though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think calling most recent YA books sci-fi is a stretch… At least when comparing to the old school sci fi. Elements of the genre are definitely there but are very loosely addressed. Which is a good thing because a lot more people will be able to enjoy it.
        No problem! 🙂 I hope you like it if you do read it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I am more than guilty for buying a book based on the cover. I know it’s bad but I can’t help it. If I see an awesome, cool cover I will probably buy it or borrow it XD I actually really enjoyed Me Before You, Shatter Me, and City of Bones, I found them a good read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This happens to me a lot. I’ve been wanting to buy the hardcovers of the Throne of Glass series, just because those covers look awesome, but I didn’t love the first book and I won’t buy them if I don’t love the books. There are a lot of high fantasy books I want to buy because of the covers, but know nothing about the book. I’m trying to be more selective with the books I buy this year. Reducing tbr is my main goal for now.
    Oh, and those Penguin classics are so beautiful I want them all *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel your pain 😂. It’s mostly with romance books for me because those tend to not sound that interesting to me, but have really pretty covers.
      I also have it with penguin classics, especially their ‘essentials’ editions. I want them all! But I don’t even enjoy reading classics that much 😅

      Anyways I’m proud of you for trying to be better about it this year! I hope you end up reducing your TBR 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the topic you chose! I have such a problem with this, I always get annoyed when I’m attracted to a book just to find out that I’ve already got it but there’s a new cover!! Or if I see a cover I like on a blog or Goodreads and realize that the cover is different in the UK, sometimes puts me off a little if it’s not as pretty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!! I also hate it when I already own the book and then find a new copy and then want that one! I always feel like just buying it but why would I want to own multiple copies? (unless it’s like my favorite book ever)
      I also wonder, when shopping, how many amazing books in the store I don’t consider because it didn’t catch my eye! Maybe a new favorite is out there and I’d never know 😮

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I have been disappointed by a couple of covers myself, but I think I do a good job resisting the shiny nice covers and buy the books on word of mouth recs and Goodreads/blogosphere reviews.
    You are definitely not alone about disliking romance, heck if I wanted to read romance I would buy romance novels not fantasy novels.

    I made a series of 7 blog posts featuring books with little or no romance and no love triangles, I have to plug it since I am seeing more and more people complaining about romance and love triangle drama. YA fantasy books without love triangles

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What you did with the prompt is so creative! While the cover is the first impression that a book gives, it is hard to not buy into just the cover art. I have read and reviewed so many books where the cover is beautiful, but the book isn’t very good. It goes the other way as well, though. A book could have the most plain cover in the world and be the best book ever! Our world these days focuses a lot on beauty and appearance. Great job on bringing out this issue!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I do really try to figure out what the book is about and how other people feel about it before buying it. But I think I will always keep falling for the covers and have the occasional cover buy. Especially when just browsing through a bookstore, the cover is always what catches my eye. I think this will be an ongoing battle, but at least we’re trying, right?

      Like

  9. Omg, I know this problem so well! I sometimes also pick a book, read the blurb or the beginning of the book, and I’m sooo disappointed! Then I get really angry, beacuse I feel like, this book doesn’t deserve this beautiful cover at all!
    loved this,
    elena

    outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

