Removing 1 Book from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

2This meme is hosted by Lia @LostInAStory. The aim is to declutter your Goodreads To Be Read shelf. You sort the books on this list on date added (ascending) and do a weekly post discussing a few of them. Read the synopsis and decide whether or not you want to keep them. I’m also sharing in which folder the books I’m keeping will be placed. ‘To be read’ are books I own already and ‘Wishlist’ are books I want to buy so I can read them soon.

My goal for these posts is to reduce my current TBR down to the books I think I will get to soon-ish. When deciding to keep or remove something I ask myself: could I see myself reading this book this year? If the answer is no, it’s going for now. I’m trying to my TBR down to the books I own and around 100 on a wishlist.


9781780745879_11.jpg

“On December 3, 1976, just before the Jamaican general election and two days before Bob Marley was to play the Smile Jamaica Concert, gunmen stormed his house, machine guns blazing. The attack nearly killed the Reggae superstar, his wife, and his manager, and injured several others. Marley would go on to perform at the free concert on December 5, but he left the country the next day, not to return for two years.

Deftly spanning decades and continents and peopled with a wide range of characters—assassins, journalists, drug dealers, and even ghosts—A Brief History of Seven Killings is the fictional exploration of that dangerous and unstable time and its bloody aftermath, from the streets and slums of Kingston in the 70s, to the crack wars in 80s New York, to a radically altered Jamaica in the 90s. Brilliantly inventive and stunningly ambitious, this novel is a revealing modern epic that will secure Marlon James’ place among the great literary talents of his generation.”

#6 – Added January 24, 2016
Though I do believe this is an important story to be told, I think I won’t be picking this up anytime soon. I’ve heard it is a little bit dense. It’s also not as brief as the title suggests, with 688 pages.
Judgment: REMOVE


12232938

“The Lovely Bones is the story of a family devastated by a gruesome murder — a murder recounted by the teenage victim. Upsetting, you say? Remarkably, first-time novelist Alice Sebold takes this difficult material and delivers a compelling and accomplished exploration of a fractured family’s need for peace and closure.

The details of the crime are laid out in the first few pages: from her vantage point in heaven, Susie Salmon describes how she was confronted by the murderer one December afternoon on her way home from school. Lured into an underground hiding place, she was raped and killed. But what the reader knows, her family does not. Anxiously, we keep vigil with Susie, aching for her grieving family, desperate for the killer to be found and punished.”

#7 – Added January 24, 2016
I have never seen the movie and wasn’t spoiled. The story seems very touching story being told in a unique way.
Judgment: KEEP (wishlist)


10257528

“The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.”

#8 – Added January 24, 2016
This one was hard. I haven’t had any luck with reading classics. I’ve heard people have trouble with the writing style. So I was thinking of letting it go. But I’ve also heard so much praise for it. Especially the word ‘beautiful’ popped up a lot.
Judgment: KEEP (wishlist)


Harry Potter and the Philisopher's Stone

“Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.”

#9 – Added January 24, 2016
I have spoken many times about how I haven’t read Harry Potter and that it’s very high on my list. Like in my On Top of my TBR Young Adult Fantasy post. Do I need to say more about this one?Judgment: KEEP (to be read)


Throne of Glass

“After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.”

#10 – Added January 24, 2016
This is another tough one. I think I’d let it go if I didn’t own it already. The assassin thing and a bad as female lead really pulled me in. Then I started hearing everybody going on about the romance, I lost my interest a little. I’m unsure about it now.
Judgment: 
KEEP (to be read)


Total amount of books removed so far: 3 out of 10


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-12 om 02.17.41Are any of these still on your TBR?
Did I make the right decisions?

11 thoughts on “Removing 1 Book from my TBR Pile | Down the TBR Hole

  1. I’m still undecided about Throne of Glass. I started it but I didn’t find it very interesting but loads of people love it so I feel like I should at least read the first book before I make up my mind 🙂 I just don’t find Sarah’s books very interesting. I couldn’t get into ACOMAF, either! I only read HP in 2015 after my friend kept going on at me to read the books!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Throne of Glass has been on my tbr a long while, but I have deleted it. I have decided not to read Throne of Glass because nothing about the book sounds interesting to me, and the only reason I am considering to read it is because of the huge hype around it. And that does not sound like a good reason for me to waste time on a book like this, while there are so many other books out there that I really want to read!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s a good idea! I read A Court of Thorns and Roses, and I thought it was okay, not that good, but I think it was mainly because of the hype that I had such high expectations. I hope you’ll like them!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Even though I’m too much of a sentimental hoarder to take part in it, I love this meme! I really enjoy reading to see what everyone gets rid of or keeps. I still haven’t read Throne of Glass myself, and I’m almost afraid to after the mass hype it’s gotten.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s a pretty difficult meme to do because I’m like that too. Everytime I go over them I’m like “I should keep that… maybe I do want to read it someday… what if I do and can’t remember the title?!”. But a tbr is no use either if I get overwhelmed everytime I look at it. Plus I feel really accomplished when I actually let something go! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really need to do this, though it scares me to get rid of so many books! Even if it’s only on Goodreads.

    I read Throne of Glass and to be honest I was disappointed. These books are one of most hyped in the community, that’s just ridiculous. The book wasn’t terrible, though not impressive either. But I was expecting something amazing from what I heard from reviewers and that’s really not the book’s fault. I want to give CoM a fair chance and see what happens. I still don’t think I’ll be finishing that series, though I’m still a little curious about it.

    I hope you enjoy HP, though. I want to reread the illustrated edition, maybe this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly why I’m afraid to read both a Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses. I think the hype has made it impossible for me to actually be impressed by it. Plus all I hear is people obsessing over the love interest, and I’m rarely a fan of romance in books. But I bought these books so I have to at least try! And as far as this meme goes, you should try it! Even if some weeks you end up keeping them all. I am really bad at letting the books go too because “what if I ever want to read them”. But it feels very rewarding when I manage to let some go! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So true! People seem to only rave about the different ships and another thing I hear is how much the latest books have changed compare to the first books in the series (specially ToG) and I usually enjoy these epic fantasies where authors build and expands their worlds, but I don’t trust this one that much. I’ve also heard some people saying how much they love SJM writing, but other people despises it. I thought it was ok. But sadly this series is extremely hyped and that affects my reading experience. I consider the best way for me is to try again when the hype dies down a little. Hopefully, after the last book is published. Maybe. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

