January Wrap Up

PicsArt_04-01-02.47.06.jpg
January was generally a pretty good month. It was hectic because of assignments and finals at uni. I didn’t read as much as I wanted to, but I guess it’s never enough. But I did some fun stuff and spent a lot of time with my best friend. I also ended up watching the entirety of Walking Dead season 5 & 6 with my boyfriend. All I can say is: why do they keep playing with our heads?! Such a rollercoaster of emotions. I hate and love it at the same time. Also… that cliffhanger. I think it got way better than the first seasons. Anyways, let’s get on with the books!

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38
What I Read

WRUP 10 #1.png

 

Fullmetal Alchemist Vol 3. & Vol 4. by Hiromu Arakawa, translated by Akira Watanabe
I have talked about this manga a lot lately. All I’m going to say here is that I’m still enjoying it and am very excited to see where the story will take me. If you are interested in this manga you should check out my Teaser Tuesday post for it.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
I finally finished it. This was required reading for a class on group dynamics. I ended up finishing it right before my exam. What this book illustrates is really interesting, especially when compared with theories about group dynamics. BUT what a pain in the butt to read. The writing style really wasn’t my cup of tea.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38 What I Made Progress In

WRUP 10 #2.png

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
Progress: 283/780 (36%). In December I ended up at 219 pages, which means I only read 64 pages in January. I am slowly making my way through this… very slowly. I have been reading this for almost a year now. The problem is that I keep putting it down. Not because I’m not enjoying it but because it’s huge.

Human Acts by Han Kang
Progress: 50/224 (22%). I started this book this month. Though I am enjoying it a lot, I find myself needing to put it down sometimes. It’s a pretty heavy story and topic. Nevertheless, the message is important and I can’t wait to finish it.

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King
Progress 92/507 (18%). This is one I have also been reading for a few months. It’s a short story collection so I have been reading a story from it once in a while. This month I read one story which is called ‘The Dune’. Unfortunately, I must say I haven’t really been enjoying the other stories so far. Though this one was pretty fun. None of them have blown me away yet.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38What I Posted

Stacking the Shelves
– January 30 | January 23 to 29 | #1

Teaser Tuesday
– January 24 | Fullmetal Alchemist | #4

Top 5 Wednesday
– January 4 | Reading & Blogging Goals for 2017 | #6
– January 18 | Favorite Tv Show Villains| #7
– January 25 | Favorite Underrated Books | #8

Down the TBR Hole
– January 26| Books 1 to 5 | #1

Searching Saturday
– January 7 | Resolution Fulfillers | #8
– January 14 | (January) 2017 Releases | #9
– January 21 | Non-Fiction | #10
– January 28 | Female Authors | #11
– January 29 | February 2017 Topics

On Top of My TBR
– January 29 | Young Adult Fantasy | #1

Other Posts
– January 1 | A Reading Year in Review 2016
– January 2 | December Wrap Up & January TBR
– January 20 | Mid(ish)-January Book Haul
– January 22 | Celebrating the little Things Tag

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38
What I Might Read in February

WRUP 10 #3

 

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38 How was January for you?
Which books did you end up reading?

12 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

  1. I really enjoyed some of the stories in Bazaar of Bad Dreams, though there were some I didn’t like. My favourite was called “The Bad Little Kid” or something along those lines. Creepy story.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! Yes, A Dance with Dragons was really good. In a way going slowly is a good thing… Because waiting for Winds of Winter is killing me 😅

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

