Female Authors | Searching Saturday #11

 

SEAS 11
Searching Saturday is a new weekly meme I created. The aim is to search a book (or multiple books) that is new to you and fits the weekly theme. This could be a new book to add to your TBR, or just to address on your blog. It’s up to you! You can search as many as you want.

You can find more information in the Introduction Post.

This week’s topic is “Female Authors”

“Girl power! Search for books that have been written by female authors. Not that the gender of an author really matters, of course. But I thought it might be a fun topic and a good way to find some new authors.”

searching-saturday-devider

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

41cTGEmf+OL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ “Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.” -Goodreads

Where I found it & Why I chose it
This book has been popping up in a lot of posts by other bloggers this past week, especially on TBR posts for diversity bingo. Lot’s of people were sharing their excited for this novel to be released, which sure rubbed off on me! I think this novel will be very important. It discusses a topic that is hard to talk about but very important in present day. This book is a diverse, ownvoices, debut novel written by a female author of color. Which is why I think it works perfectly for this week’s topic.

searching-saturday-devider

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

6316171“Five months ago, Valerie Leftman’s boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.

Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.” -Goodreads

Where I found it & why I chose it
In my first Down the TBR Hole post, I discussed This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp, which has the same topic as this book. I decided I would remove that one from my TBR because lot’s of reviews said that the shooter didn’t get a voice and the reasons behind it were not explained. In those reviews, people kept recommending this novel by Jennifer Brown. So again, a novel about a very heavy and important topic.

searching-saturday-devider

How do you feel about my picks?
Do these books interest you?

7 thoughts on “Female Authors | Searching Saturday #11

  1. I have seen The Hate You Give a lot lately and being a black female, I really want to read it. I saw Hate List a while back and I wanted to read it because of the school danger premise.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I haven’t read This Is Where It Ends, mostly due to the multiple perspectives aspect not interesting me. However, I have read the Hate List and although the shooter in this one doesn’t have too much of a voice in this book. I think it depicted well enough in flashbacks the way the situation was beginning to pan out and had a realistic enough interpretation of the aftermath from how the main character felt.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You just never get his point of view, it’s all from the main character (that I remember, it’s been a while since I last read it.) But yeah definitely read it for yourself. Hope to see your review once you have read it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

