Non-Fiction | Searching Saturday #10

PicsArt_01-21-11.52.14.jpg

Searching Saturday is a new weekly meme I created. The aim is to search a book (or multiple books) that is new to you and fits the weekly theme. This could be a new book to add to your TBR, or just to address on your blog. It’s up to you! You can search as many as you want.

You can find more information in the Introduction Post.

This week’s topic is “Non-Fiction”

“A daunting category for most of us. The only non-fiction books I have ever read have been prescribed readings. Let’s have a look, shall we? Search for books within the category of non-fiction. Even if you’re not that interested in the category as a whole, there will probably be a non-fiction out there that interests you. We’ll do it together so it won’t be so scary. If you already love non-fiction and you think I’m being dramatic, I admire you. Teach me your ways.”

searching-saturday-deviderWonder Woman: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Mags

28503941
“Ever heard of Allied spy Noor Inayat Khan, a Muslim woman whom the Nazis considered “highly dangerous”? Or German painter and entomologist Maria Sibylla Merian, who planned and embarked on the world’s first scientific expedition? How about Huang Daopo, the inventor who fled an abusive child marriage only to revolutionize textile production in China?

Women have always been able to change the world, even when they didn’t get the credit. In Wonder Women, author Sam Maggs introduces you to pioneering female scientists, engineers, mathematicians, adventurers, and inventors—each profile a study in passion, smarts, and stick-to-itiveness, complete with portraits by Google doodler Sophia Foster-Dimino, an extensive bibliography, and a guide to present-day women-centric STEM organizations.” -Goodreads

Where did I find it?
Luna @BookishLuna recommended it to me. On one of the wrap-ups on their blog, which contained a bunch of nonfiction books, I had asked where to start with nonfiction. I loved this recommendation, so thanks again! 🙂 

Why did I choose it?
I really want to read some feminist work. This one sounds interesting, to follow the stories of different women. I’m just really curious to see what this book has to offer.

searching-saturday-deviderThe Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks

12143354
“Oliver Sacks’s The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat tells the stories of individuals afflicted with fantastic perceptual and intellectual aberrations: patients who have lost their memories and with them the greater part of their pasts; who are no longer able to recognize people and common objects; who are stricken with violent tics and grimaces or who shout involuntary obscenities; whose limbs have become alien; who have been dismissed as retarded yet are gifted with uncanny artistic or mathematical talents.

If inconceivably strange, these brilliant tales remain, in Dr. Sacks’s splendid and sympathetic telling, deeply human. They are studies of life struggling against incredible adversity, and they enable us to enter the world of the neurologically impaired, to imagine with our hearts what it must be to live and feel as they do. A great healer, Sacks never loses sight of medicine’s ultimate responsibility: “the suffering, afflicted, fighting human subject.” -Goodreads

Where did I find it?
I first found this book a little while back while I was looking for more books on mental illness. Though I was interested in it, for some reason I didn’t add it to my Goodreads To Be Read shelf yet. I had completely forgotten about it until Julie @S.B. and M.T. recommended it to me on one of my posts. Thanks again for helping me rediscover it!

Why did I choose it?
As I have said in the past, I want to read more books that discuss mental illness. I also think this would be a great way to try nonfiction because it’s a topic I already know quite a lot about and am very interested in. 

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-16-43-02
Did you participate in this week’s Searching Saturday?
What books did you find?

 

3 thoughts on “Non-Fiction | Searching Saturday #10

Leave a Reply

