Mid(ish)-January Book Haul

HAUL P2.jpg

I know what you’re thinking, that’s a pretty big stack of books. You are right. BUT it contains all the books I’ve bought since November. So that makes it a lot less bad right? Right. I decided to do my book hauls in the middle of every month from now on, and more regularly.

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.23.35.png

American Pastoral (The American Trilogy #1) by Philip Roth
Caught my eye in the little bookstore at a train station. The fact that there is a bookstore at this station, where I take the train to uni almost every day, is a serious problem. A lot of times the there’s a delay (like when there is a leaf somewhere on the trail) which makes me pass some time looking at books. Very dangerous. So I bought American Pastoral not knowing it was a classic. I just saw the fire on the cover and read something about “a loving daughter capable of a savage act”, and I took it.

Lord of the Flies by William Golding 
…  what to tell you. I’ve read this one already. It was required reading material for a class on group dynamics. I found this book both intriguing and boring. A strange combination. The plot, the 0ver all message and the group dynamic, which illustrated a lot of the topics I was learning about in class, was enjoyable. However, the writing style just wasn’t for me. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to do a full review. Maybe if some of you find it interesting to read about the things I learned from it in relation to psychology?

Illuminae (Illuminae #1) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff 
Has been hyped up 
both on Booktube and in the blogger community. Mainly for its action-packed plot and the unique format. I bought it online when I was ordering lord of the Flies because I wasn’t about to pay for delivery. This was at the time of the Tome Topple read-a-thon, which is about reading 500+ page books. I figured it would be great to read Illuminae because it’s 599 pages but probably reads pretty quick, due to the format. During the readathon, I did start it but put it back down. It was enjoyable but a little confusing.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Was also thrown into the online purchase besides Lord of the Flies and Illuminae. Because why buy two when you can buy three? I had been wanting to buy this for a long time. This book discusses a controversial topic and I love reading books like that. They make you think and uncomfortable and aware of things you usually don’t consider. I hope it meets my high expectations!

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.26.19.png

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo
Also received a bunch of hype. The plot sounds fun and I’ve been hearing it has a very diverse cast. All I really know is that it’s about an unlikely group of characters trying to pull off some crazy crime. I’m excited! This was the last book (together with the Leaving) that I bought at the bookstore near my house before I moved. How sad. It had such an amazing selection of English books, which unfortunately is pretty rare here. I’ll miss it.

The Leaving by Tara Altebrando
Stood out to me in the bookstore because of the cover and the tagline. It’s been a while since I’ve read a mystery-thriller-type book and I miss it a little. I’m also intrigued because you don’t often see a YA book within this genre. 

Anatomy of a Soldier by Harry Parker
One day, my train was delayed so I went to the bookstore. This book stood out to me because of the bright, beautiful cover. Then I read the back… a story told from the perspective of 45 objects. How interesting! I had to take it. 

Fullmetal Alchemist Omnibus Vol 1. by Hiromu Arakawa, translated by Akira Watanabe
Was a present from my boyfriend. He loves the anime. Manga, in general, has become our way to enjoy the same story without him having to actually read something. I’ve already read all 3 volumes within this bind up and I’m in love! You’ll be seeing a lot more of these in my future hauls.

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.28.36.png

Human Acts by Han Kang 
Is the first of the books I actually bought this month. It’s a pretty funny story. Again my train was delayed. It stood out to me because It’s by Han Kang. I’ve heard great things about The Vegetarian. The synopses intrigued me so then I looked it up on Goodreads and saw that the releasing date was January 17th, 2017. It was before that date so I thought OMG I can read and review it before the releasing date. Only to find out later it was released on May 19th,2014. Only that specific cover was released this year. How dumb am I? I’m really enjoying the book so far, though. 

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
I have been wanting to read this one for a while. The story is kind of the same as the one for Forbidden. I’m interested in books that deal with controversial topics. BUT I wasn’t going to buy this one until I was in the store and my best friend was like “BUY IT. Just DO it!”. I swear it’s her fault. 

Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
Around Christmas time I ended up getting someone a cookbook and it didn’t work out, so I had to return it. Instead of asking for my money back I ended up picking up another book for myself. I know I’m a terrible person. I chose this one because I have been wanting to read something by Jonathan Safran Foer for a while. And their selection of English books wasn’t that big. 

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
I bought this one when my train was delayed. Do you see the pattern here? I have been wanting this book for a long time because it’s a classic about mental illness. Then I came across this beautiful orange edition. It was meant to be.

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-deviderHave you read any of these?
Are any of them on your TBR?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Mid(ish)-January Book Haul

  1. I have been wanting Six of Crows & Illuminae so badly since the hype started (especially the hardcovers). And The Leaving always interested me since I saw it on Alicia’s @hashtaglovesbook.alicia Instagram

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

