Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017 | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by two ladies named Lainey and Samanta over at their Goodreads groupThe aim is to make a list fitting the weekly topic. The goal for this list is naming 5 things.

This week’s topic is “books you want to finally get to in 2017”

“These are those books you meant to read in 2016 or 2015 or 2014 and never got around to. Those books that have been sitting on your TBR for a while, and you really want to get to. These aren’t upcoming 2017 releases; these are older books that need your love too!” Goodreads Group.

Lot’s of books on my shelf fit this. It’s going to be hard to only pick 5. These are the ones I feel most guilty about. These are the ones that really need to stop being pushed back.

Mockingjay-UK-Adult-Cover
Mockingjay (#3 The Hunger Games) – Suzanne Collins

I feel so much shame every time I have to mention I haven’t read this yet. The first one, I read in 2014. The second one, I read this year. The third, I’m going to read in 2017. I can feel it, it’s gonna happen! Just watch me. The problem with this one is that I’ve seen the movies, I know how it ends. But I still enjoyed reading catching fire so… bad excuse. 

 

 

 

Game of Thrones
Game of Thrones
(#1 A Song of Ice and Fire) – George R.R. Martin

Not having read A Game of Thrones yet, feels a little less bad. I feel like lot’s of people struggle to finish this book. Nevertheless, I’ve tried to read it before. I started again in February, and I’m still reading it. It just keeps being pushed aside for other reads. A Game of Thrones has been on about 8 of my TBR’s over the course of this year. You’d say I should give up on it, because it sounds like I’m just not enjoying myself. Worst part is that the problem isn’t whether or not I like it. I love it! It just feels like such a big time investment and I feel like I need to read a lot of books. I already take a long time with one book, so reading this one means I’ll be taking a long while. But who cares?! I should just go for it, and I will do just that.

Red Dragon
Red Dragon (#1 Hannibal Lecter) – Thomas Harris

This book is the prequel to The Silence of the Lambs. I also own that one, Hannibal and Hannibal Rising. Which means I own the whole series, and I haven’t even finished the first one. My boyfriend and I watched the Hannibal tv show (I haven’t watched any of the movies). The tv show were so creepy, I just had to have the books. My boyfriend bought me all four books. AND YET I HAVEN’T READ ANY. How horrible am I? When I tried reading it, the writing style made it a little hard to follow. I just need to take my time.

 


The Girl with all the Gifts
The Girl with All the Gifts – M.R. Carey

After starting this one in June (!!), it has endlessly been pushed aside for things that interest me more. Don’t get me wrong, it has lots of suspense and is very intriguing. But I feel like zombies are not really my thing… Still, everyone loves this. I need to give it a real chance.

 

 

 

 

Harry Potter and the Philisopher's Stone
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
– J.K. Rowling

This one is last because it’s the worst one. Maybe hiding at the bottom of the post will make it stand out less. The Harry Potter books are basically everyone in the book community’s babies. Everyone loves these, only a select group has never read them. Which I’m a part of. It’s going to change in 2017. I promise. I hope I’ll receive the books for Christmas maybe… *Insert very casual hint to family members and boyfriend*

 

 

Which books made it to your list?
Do we have any of the same books?

18 thoughts on “Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017 | Top 5 Wednesday

      1. I did read the first book back when I was in third grade and it first came out but as much as I enjoyed it, I didn’t pick up the next one. I’m definitely ready to give it another go!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Don’t feel bad! I only read the Harry Potter books last year! I did like them but I didn’t love them… maybe if I’d have read them when they first came out I would but oh well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Very true! I did go into it with really high expectations which is probably why I didn’t enjoy it as much! Hopefully you will like it more than me 🙂 My favourite was Chamber of Secrets which is really weird considering everyone I ask says they loved Prisoner of Azkaban!

        Like

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only person who hasn’t finished The Hunger Games series. You’re doing better than me though because I haven’t read Catching Fire yet haha. I really wanna read The Girl with All the Gifts!! I hope you love the Harry Potter series!! It’s so wonderful ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wasn’t motivated to pick up Catching Fire because it had been so long since I read The Hunger Games. I have also already seen all the movies so I know how the story ends. But I must say I still really enjoyed reading Catching Fire. I hope you’ll end up picking them up again too, someday. I’m pretty sure I’ll love Harry Potter. All I need to do is get them! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

