Tome Topple TBR

PicsArt_02-08-02.51.42.jpg
The Tome Topple Read-a-thon is hosted by Sam @Thoughts On Tomes, Catriona @Little Book Owl, Adriana @Perpetual Pages, Sarah-Jane @The Book Life, Sheema @Dream Thiefs & Bethany @Bibliophilic Witch
“The whole point of this readathon is to read big books (over 500 pages). You don’t even need to read a lot of them. You don’t even need to finish one. The point is that we are all reading those big daunting books at the same time and supporting each other.” Tome Topple Goodreads Group. The read-a-thin runs from November 18th at midnight until December 1st at 12:59 PM (in your own timezone).

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-17-06-591001004001214741
A Game of Thrones (#1 A Song of Ice and Fire) – George R.R. Martin

This monster is the biggest TBR book on my shelf, with 801 pages. I have read up to page 121. But even without those pages, it’s still well over 500 pages. I think this might be the one I will be focussing on because I have been wanting to finish it for forever.

 

 

51LK1NgAk6L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

This Book is the second, with 552 pages. I have attempted to read it before, multiple times even. It’s been on my TBR for read-a-thons multiple times. I have started it, and with that I mean like… first 20 pages. It’s not that I don’t like it. I’m sure it’s beautiful. But because it’s hyped up to be such a life changing emotional book, I want to be able to take my time. I think I’m not picking this up for this read-a-ton, it’s an option, though.

 

200px-CuckoosCallingCover

The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith

This one is just 2 pages shorter than The Book Thief, with 550 pages. Again this one has made it to my TBR quite a few times. I think this is a better option for this read-a-thon because the size of it is definitely what has been putting me off. I’m going to try to read this. Not sure yet if this or A Game of Thrones will be the one I start with.
91xaugkjjsl

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams – Stephen King

A short story collection by Stephen King, 507 pages. This one is tricky because I’m not quite sure if it’s allowed. Someone asked if they could read the Tales of the Shadowhunter Academy, and they couldn’t. So I’m afraid this one won’t be either. I’ve asked in the Goodreads group and waiting for a reply. There is still hope!
illuminea

Illuminae (#1 Illuminae) – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

After my first edition of this post, the lovely Eliza @Dusk Angel Reads told me the book I ordered, Illuminea, is also over 500 pages! 599 to be exact. I’m sure I will get to this one. The format will be a great way to mix things up during this read-a-thon. I’ll receive it the day it starts. How perfect!
schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-17-06-59

Are you participating in this read-a-thon?
What are you reading?

18 thoughts on “Tome Topple TBR

  1. Awesom list! I hope you like Game of Thrones more than I did.. I couldn’t even finish it because I disliked it so much.. anyway! I am participating and I hope to read The Book Thief as well. I also want to read Gemina and the I’ll probably go onto one of the Harry Potter books as the last 4 are all over 500 pages! Good luck! 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was debating whether I should read Game of Thrones but opted out lol. So I’m planning on reading the Black Prism by Brent Weeks and MAYBE if I’m done with that before the readathon, start Winter by Marissa Meyer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

