October Wrap Up & November TBR

 

6c19d7aa-3979-4ec5-bd00-4e6615523e7b.png
To my surprise I still read stuff this month, even though life has been crazy (I explained this in my Personal Update). It’s not much. But it’s still something.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

What I read during the month of Oktober:
12510082

Catching Fire (#2 Hunger Games) – Suzanne Collins

Yaaaaaasss! I finally made it till the end. It took me two years, but I did it! I read the last 124 pages. And I loved every second of it. I have absolutely no excuse why it took me so long. That’s one book you will not see in my TBR for months (not anymore).

 

 

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

327
Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers – Robert M. Sapolsky

 

This is a book I’m required to read for a course I’m taking about stress and how it can affect your health. It’s basically a textbook, and normally I wouldn’t include those. But this one is just togreat to not mention. If you’re interested in psychology and how psychological stress can affect things like metaolism, growth, reproduction, pain perception, memory and sleep (that’s just some of the topics discussed) you should definately give this a go. It’s interesting stuff, not ll of it but still. Even the boring stuff is explained in such a way that it’s fun to read. The guy who wrote this is extremely whitty and really knows his way with metaphores. I mean who doesn’t want to be explained about why people crap their pants when they are really scared and distressed. And what better way to explain that by ending with “…Boom. Diarrhea, simple as that.”. 

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

paperweight
Paperweight – Meg Haston

I picked this up on my last trip to the bookstore because I had just watched this video by the lovely Emmabooks on youtube. In this video Emma talkes about her recommendations for books portraying mental illness. This particular one is about eating disorders, which Emma herself has experienced. She talkes about how this book is amazing and beautiful, but also very heavy because it’s so realistic. I am 90 pages in and I am loving it, I can’t put it down (even though I schould because of finals). It’s so beautiful and sad and scary at the same time. I can’t wait to continue reading this and am so happy Emma made that video. Go check it out! 🙂

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

What I posted during the month of oktober:

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

What I plan on reading during the month of november:

I’m giving myself a more realistic TBR for this month. Since this month I have my finals and I have to move. Wish me luck!

  • Paperweight by Meg Haston
  • Love (#4 Death Note) written by Tsugumi Ohba, Illustrated by Takeshi Obata
  • The Test of the Ninja (#1 Naruto) by Masashi Kishimoto
  • Tales of the Peculiar (#0.5 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

What did you read during the month of oktober?
What do you plan on reading during the month of november?
Tell me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “October Wrap Up & November TBR

    1. That’s exactly what happened to me! I read The Hunger Games on a vacation to Spain and didn’t bring Catching Fire, which was a huuuge mistake. I was dying to read it right after but lost that interest when I got back home. Then I watched the movies when they came out and didn’t feel the need to read, because I know the ending. But I’m reading it now and it’s still so much fun! I would recommend just picking it up sometime too. It’s a great world to revisit 🙂

      Like

      1. Spoilers are the worst. Most books are not worth reading when you know the majority of the plot, but The Hunger Games is definitely an exception! I hope you get around to reading it and enjoy the second one as much as I did. Have a wonderful day ❤︎

        Like

Leave a Reply

