October Book Haul

HAUL P1

I’ve picked up some books. These aren’t all bought at the same time but collected over about 2 months. Last month was my birthday and a lot of my friends were so kind to give me a bunch of gift cards to get books! So I went a little crazy (as I normally only buy 0-2 books a month). 

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.50.57

Death Note Black Edition V (Vol 9 & 10) & VI (Vol 11 &12) written by Tsugumi Ohba & illustrated by Takeshi Obata
I’m really enjoying this series, even though I’m only at the fourth manga (so the third of these editions). My boyfriend is already at the fifth black edition. So we had to buy V and VI. I’m excited to get there too.  

The Raven Boys (#1 The Raven Cycle) by Maggie Stiefvater
I got this one because I’ve been hearing so much about the series on booktube. Many people describe it as a fantasy/paranormal that is really different to anything they have ever read. Which made me want to buy it. I don’t know much about the story. Only that it’s about a girl who’s family predicts the future and they have always told her that her true love will die. 

A Game of Thrones (#1 A Song of Ice and Fire) by George R.R. Martin
I hated reading the mass market paperback so much that I bought the normal paperback size. I thought it might motivate me more to read it. Motivation has yet to be found…

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.56.50.png

The Fifth Season (#1 The Broken Earth) by N.K. Jemisin
This was n impulse buy. I saw it a couple times in a little store next to the train station. Sometimes when I have to wait a long time, I go look at the books in this store. They had this book on the display table with English books. So I’ve seen it a couple of times and was intrigued by the cover. It’s a story about the world ending, but earth is kinda weird. I’m not sure. I tried reading it just after I got it and realized it was pretty dense. The words used are more complicated than I’m used to and there is basically no dialog. I’m sure it’s going to be good but I’m going to have to take my time with it.

Mockingjay (#3 The Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins
Because I’m finally finishing up this series! After two freaking years. Shame, Shame, Shame…

Misery by Stephen King
So I’ve been wanting to read more books by Stephen king, as I’ve only read Mr. Mercedes which is one of his newer books. I wanted to go with one of his older books. I was doubting between this one and The Shining. I chose Misery because this one seemed more likely to happen in real life, and realistic horror is always more scary for me. It’s about a writer who kills off one of his most loved character and someone isn’t too happy about that.

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King
I also wanted to read a short story collection by Stephen King. He has a few and I just chose his most recent one. That decision was probably a little influenced by how pretty this cover is. 

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-12 om 15.59.29.png

 

Tales of the Peculiar (#0.5 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) written by Ransom Riggs & illustrated by Andrew Davidson
I bought this one because I looooove the original series. I also thought the idea of writing the fairy tales used in the original story was such an original way of writing extra material surrounding a book series. Also, hello beautiful cover.

Paperweight by Meg Haston
This one was brought to my attention by the lovely Emmmabooks on youtube. In her recent video Mental Illness Book Recommendations. As a Psychology student, I’m always looking for books that represent different kinds of mental illness well. Emma talked about how this book is painfully realistic. I trust her on this as she has had similar experiences as the main character in this book. I know this is going to be an emotional book, but I’m really excited to start it.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38Have you read any of these books?
Have you picked up any books recently?

 

7 thoughts on “October Book Haul

    1. I’m sorry for taking such a long time to reply. I’m very curious about it too. I tried starting it, but it’s so different and strange. I decided to wait until I’m in the right mood for something that requires a little bit more concentration and time. Still very excited about it though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

