Currently Reading Madness [Original] Tag

currently-reading-madness-original-tag

 

I have been having this problem lately, I have been feeling slumpy for MONTHS. I keep picking up books and putting them down again which is resulting in me having a massive currently reading pile. I mean MASSIVE. I’m sure I’m not alone on this one. right?! What better way to start tackling this problem by doing a tag. I tried searching online for a tag like this but all I found was a tag called “currently reading tag” which talked more about how you like to read. So I created my own! I might be tagging some people but feel free to do it, even if you haven’t been tagged. I never wait to be tagged either. You can also do this if your pile isn’t as out of control as mine, just go for it. I would appreciate it if you would mention this original post. And be sure to leave your version of this in the comments so I can read them. Anyways, Let’s get to it!

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38

These are the questions for each book on your currently reading pile:
– How far did you get?
– When did you last read it?
– How are you liking it so far?
– Are you actively reading it?
– If so, why is it a priority over the other ones? If not, what made you stop reading?
– How are you feeling about finishing this one? Is it happening anytime soon?

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38Here are the 9 books I’m currently reading:

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
51LK1NgAk6L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Progress: 20/552 (4%)
Last read: August this year (last month)
Feelings so far: I think it’s really interesting. The way it’s told and the perspective of death is so unique. I can’t say much else only having read 20 pages.
Actively reading: No
Why: Because I think it’s one of those books you need to take your time with. I went into this thinking I had a whole week free of responsibilities, but things changed and I worked all week. Life hit me.
Finishing it: Uni has started and I’m not sure if now is the right time. I might pick it up soon or I might wait until winter time.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38Catching Fire (#2 The Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins
12510082

Progress: 85/439 (19%)
Last read: About a year ago
Feelings so far: Of course I love this series, who doesn’t? But I remember feeling like the beginning of this one isn’t as fast paced as the first one. I know it’s gonna pick up later but I remember it being a little slow.
Actively reading: No
Why: I read the first book two years ago while on vacation. I didn’t have the second one back then. I had to read another book I took with me and kind of stopped reading altogether. When I got back home I bought the next book but didn’t have the desire to read anymore. Last year I tried again but it didn’t really pull me in, maybe because I already saw the movie. Then again I only read one book last year.
Finishing it: I think I might actually pick this up soon. I feel like I need something with a really fast paced plot to get me out of the reading slump I’ve been in for months. Maybe this one would work. Also, I really need to just finish this series, because … it’s the hunger games.
schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38A Court of Thorns and Roses (#1 A Court of Thorns and Roses) by Sarah J. Maas
22839894

Progress: 20/419 (5%)
Last read: April this year
Feelings so far: Meh… Please don’t kill me. I’m not sure about it. I can’t really say much because I only got to page 20, but it didn’t really capture my attention.
Actively reading: No
Why: I started this book after finishing Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I really wanted to start reading Hollow City but I didn’t own it so I picked up something else. This really isn’t a good way to pick up a book, because all I wanted to do is read Hollow City. It didn’t really get a fair chance.

Finishing it: Maybe soonish? I’ll probably reread the first 20 pages, though. I think what’s putting me off right now is the huge amount of hype it’s been getting. Also, every person who talks about this talks about the crazy romance and I’m not a big fan of romance-heavy books.
schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38A Game of thrones (#1 A Song of Ice and Fire) by George R.R. Martin
11788809

Progress: 122/801 (15%)
Last read: Last week
Feelings so far: I love how it’s like rewatching the tv show with extra bonus material. It’s a bit challenging because of the language being used but I still love it.
Actively reading: yes
Why: I feel like it’s easier to get into a book where you are already familiar with the characters when you’re feeling slumpy. I don’t have to try hard to get to know anybody, I already do. I also kind of miss the show.
Finishing it: I’m not going to stop reading this, but I’m sure it will take me some time to finish. I’m hopeful, though!

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkings
The_Girl_on_the_Train_UK

Progress: 100/316 (32%)
Last read: 
August this year (last month)
Feelings so far:
 I’m a little confused but I like how the suspense is really building. I don’t feel very connected to the characters. It feels like I’m observing from a distance, not living it.
Actively reading: no
Why: 
I really don’t even know… I should just finish it.
Finishing it:
Hopefully soon. I’m going to try to just pick it up and speed through it in a few sittings.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
17235026

Progress: 50/640 (8%)
Last read: July this year
Feelings so far: I’m intrigued but also kind of put off. I didn’t realize while buying it that there were going to be zombies, or whatever they are. I’m not sure that’s really for me, but I’m willing to try!
Actively reading: no
Why: Since I’m in a slump I’m trying to read books I will surely enjoy.
Finishing it: Going to try to at least get to it before 2017.
schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38Looking for Alaska by John Green
10518900

Progress: 44/268 (16%)
Last read:
 Two years ago 
Feelings so far:
Unpopular opinion, I didn’t like it. Maybe it was the characters… I’m not sure. Again this was on vacation after reading The Hunger Games, so all I wanted to read was Catching fire. But I only took this. I’m an idiot.
Actively reading: 
no
Why: 
I have no desire to read it anymore. Except for not wanting an unread book on my shelf.
Finishing it:
I really don’t think so. Maybe some day.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38The Raven Boys (#1 The Raven Cycle) by Maggie Stiefvater
17675462

Progress: 21/419 (5%)
Last read:
 Last week
Feelings so far: I’m very very very confused, but I think I’m going to love the characters.
Actively reading:
yes
Why:
 I think I’m going to love it and it’s going to be a good book to conquer my slump.
Finishing it: This month!

schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38Red Dragon (#1 Hannibal Lecter) by Thomas Harris
6111723

Progress: 115/421 (27%)
Last read:
May this year
Feelings so far:
So creepy. Scary people. Nasty things. I like it! I’m having a little bit of a hard time with the writing. It’s a little more sophisticated so sometimes I have to look up words.
Actively reading:
yes

Why:
 Because I was having trouble with the writing style I was going a little slow and I wanted a fast read.
Finishing it: Again, trying to read it at least before the end of the year.


schermafbeelding-2016-11-18-om-22-00-38

How many books are you currently reading?
Please do the tag or let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Currently Reading Madness [Original] Tag

Leave a Reply

