Books I Will Never Read | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by two lovely ladies named Lainey and Samanta over at their Goodreads group. They give you monthly prompts for each Wednesday. This Wednesday topic is “Books you will never read”.

Whether it’s from a series that you have outgrown or don’t wish to continue, or they are popular books that just don’t interest you, let us know what you don’t plan on reading”. – Goodreads Group

Let me just say that this will be a list of books I don’t plan on reading now, my opinion might change later. Also if your favorite book is on here, I’m not bashing it, I just don’t think it’s for me. 

The Elite (#2 The Selection) by Kiera Cass

I read The Selection, the first book in this series, a few months ago. It wasn’t that I hated this book, at parts it was even enjoyable. But I just don’t feel connected to any of the characters and I feel like the story isn’t anything special. America was just so frustrating and both love interest didn’t really do anything for me. What it basically comes down to is that I think there are so many other books I’m way more interested in and would enjoy more.

Fifty Shades of Gray (#1 Fifty Shades) by E.L. James

I don’t have anything against erotic novels. If that’s what you like to read, that’s great. I have never read an erotic novel and I don’t think it’s something I’d personally like. But the thing is even if I would want to try reading an erotic novel, I wouldn’t pick this one. This is because I have heard a lot of people, who read books like this more often, that it’s not even a good book in the erotic genre. That it’s really just overhyped. Also, everyone is talking about how abusive and wrong the relationship is and I know I don’t enjoy books like that. I get irritated and frustrated. Also, I haven’t seen the movies. Don’t think I will.

Obsidian (#1 Lux) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

At first, I was really interested in this one, with all the hype it got mainly on Booktube. But then I kind of realized it probably isn’t for me. I’m not a fan of romance (especially not if it’s the main focus of the book. Also paranormal elements like ghosts, aliens, werewolves, vampires and such. For some reason, books with those elements just don’t click with me. From what I understand it’s pretty much a romance book with an alien, so it’s probably not a great idea to read this. Which is why I won’t! Probably.

The Maze Runner (#1 The Maze Runner) by James Dashner

This one is the one I would most likely still read someday. The plot really seems really interesting to me. I’ve seen the first two movies and liked them, the first more than the second I believe. I would still want to read the books after the movie because I want to read about the world in more detail. But the thing is so many people dislike this. Some only like the first or first two. Some like none of them. I’d say 9 out of 10 people I’ve seen talk/write about this are negative. I’ve heard the writing is too plain. Normally I still want to form my own opinion, maybe I still will. But right now I really don’t have any interest in it anymore and don’t see that changing anytime soon.

Twilight (#1 Twilight) by Stephenie Meyer

Let me just say, I’m not one of those people who hate this book without having read it. I don’t think it’s wrong to love this book. Because it seems like a lot of people do feel that way. Which is weird to me, but anyways. I just don’t think it’s for me. Like I said with Obsidian, paranormal romance, nope. I really have never been interested in the hype surrounding this story, I never saw the movies either.

Which books will you never read?
Do we have any of them in common?
Tell me in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Books I Will Never Read | Top 5 Wednesday

  1. I have been doubting to read the Selection series for a while now. The cover interested me as well as the synopsis, but I still haven’t bought it. And since I discovered BookTube, the people I follow really love this series. But I can live with the fact that I haven’t read it (yet).
    Great top 5!! 😀

    Like

    1. I’d say it would be great if you’re a fan of romance. The main character is also a hit or miss with people. I think you should just go and see for yourself, even though I didn’t enjoy it. Be sure to let me know if you ever get around to reading it! If you remember 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

