Hollow City | Spoiler-Free Review

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-06 om 22.25.56Hollow City
Genre: Fantasy
Type:  Series #2 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children
POV:  Single & First person
Pages:  412
Date Published:  January 14, 2014

“This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.” – Goodreads


Rating

When I give a book a 5-star rating it means it had everything I was hoping for. I rate my books based on how much they met my expectations, not how ‘good’ they are. I do this because I think good/bad ratings highly depend on what you want from a book and are therefore subjective. In my reviews, I explain why a book did or didn’t meet my expectations and try to specify which people might like or dislike it. You can find more information about my rating scale here.


Review

Let’s start with all the positive things I have to say. Compared to the first book I think this book had a way more action packed plot line. The characters travel a lot more and faced a bunch of challenges on their way. I felt like we really got to see more of all the different characters since their abilities were being used a lot more. We got to see more of the dynamic in the group. As for the main character, he really starts developing himself. He basically becomes a different person compared to what we saw in the beginning of the first book. I feel like, although the love interest can be cheesy at times, there is a background to it and it is slowly developing. It’s not thrown in your face, but a background to the story, which I enjoy. I flew through this book because of the action packed plot, it kept me wondering what’s next. And finally … that cliffhanger!

The one point of critique I had for the first book was that I thought it could use a bit more creepiness. This book didn’t really get more creepy but it didn’t bother me anymore. I think I just accepted this book for what it is. My only problem with this one is that I thought some of the scenes felt a bit forced. Like he really wanted to use the picture so he thought up some part that doesn’t really fit in with the plot. It didn’t happen a lot though so it didn’t bother me too much.


+ Action packed plot line.
+ More traveling and obstacles to be faced then in the first book.
+ Got to see more of all the different characters in the group and the group dynamic.
+ Main character develops a lot.
+ Love interest not too overpowering to the plot.
+ Great cliffhanger.

– Some parts of the story felt a little out of place like they were put in just to use a picture. 


Schermafbeelding 2017-07-09 om 16.28.18Have you read this book?
If so, how do you feel about it?
If not, do you want to?
Did you like this one better than the first book?


 

3 thoughts on “Hollow City | Spoiler-Free Review

Leave a Reply

