This or That Tag

Tag-6.pngThis is a tag with this or that questions, as the name suggests. I have been seeing this tag a lot lately, on other people’s blog and Booktube. It was originally created by Ayunda @TeaAndPaperbacks. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, I tagged myself. Let’s do this!

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider
1. Reading on the couch or on the bed? 

Starting off with a hard one… I do enjoy both a lot. I think I’ll go with on the couch because lately I have been falling asleep every time I try to read in bed, after about 5 pages.

2. Female or male main character?

Male. Because I feel like it’s rarer to read from a male perspective, especially in Young Adult books, which makes it more interesting to me. Another reason is that I feel like books with male main characters have less prominent aspects of (cheesy) romance in them, I’m not a romance fan so that’s a plus for me.

3. Sweet or salty snacks while reading?

I don’t always eat snacks while reading, but when I do I eat popcorn *insert I don’t always, but when I do meme here*. I only eat sweet popcorn so there ya go. Sweet.

4. Trilogies or quartets?

Trilogies. I am horrible at finishing series, so the less the better. Also, a lot of times I feel like series don’t really need more than three books to wrap up a story nicely (there are exceptions, of course). I don’t like it when it feels like a story is dragged out just so there can be more books.

5. First person or third person point of view?

One that’s a little difficult again. I like both. I think I’ll go with first-person because it feels more personal, I feel more involved in the story. So overall I’ll go with first. BUT I love third-person to mix things up. The thing I love about third-person is that it gives you more or less information than the main character, which gives you a totally different reading experience.

6. Reading at night or in the morning?

Well right now, as I told you before, reading at night is not really working out for me since I keep falling asleep. So I would have to say morning now because that’s when I get most reading done. But during college I really only read at night, so 10 out of 12 months it’s the other way around.

7. Libraries or bookstores?

Bookstores. Since I got back into reading I only buy new books. I don’t buy second hand and I don’t lend from the library. I used to go to the library a lot, but that changed when I once lent a book that was absolutely disgusting! Trust me, you don’t even want to know all the dirty things I found in that book. That experience made me never want to read used books again. Also, libraries in the Netherlands don’t have a great selection of English books.

8. Books that make you laugh or cry?

I love laughing but I’ll have to go with cry. I don’t cry a lot in books, only when something sad happens that also really has a strong message. Which means that when a book makes me cry, it has an impact on how I view the world. I think that’s more meaningful to me than making me laugh, even though a laugh can be exactly what I need sometimes.

9. Black or white book covers?

I love all books. No matter what color, size or country of origin. Appearance doesn’t matter, all that matters is what’s within. (All love and peace talk aside, I kinda think black books look better than white books. Don’t tell anyone).

10. Character or plot driven?

Again, difficult one. I’m going with character driven, even though I love exciting and crazy plot lines. A book with great characters but a plot where nothing happens can still be amazing. Hersenschimmen by Bernlef, English translation Out of mind, is an example. It’s about an old man with Alzheimer’s who really just goes about his days. But because of the character development, it is still a beautiful book. On the other hand, a very exciting plot with flat characters. It might entertain me for a while, but I’ll get fed up with not feeling anything for the characters.

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider
I tag

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-deviderSchermafbeelding 2017-03-30 om 00.29.01.png

7 thoughts on “This or That Tag

Leave a Reply

