We Were Lairs | Spoiler Free Review

picsart_02-12-07-08-56 We Were Liars Cover Flowers.png
Author:  E. Lockhart

Publisher:  Hot Key Books
Genre:  Mystery, Contemporary
Age Group:  Young Adult
Type:  Stand Alone
Point of view:  First person & Single
Pages:  225
Date Published:  May 13, 2014
Date Read:  May 5, 2016

My Rating: ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎

 

We Were Liars Devider.png

Synopsis

“We are liars.
We are beautiful and privileged.
We are cracked and broken.
A tale of love and romance.
A tale of tragedy
Which are lies?
Which is truth?
You decide”
– Goodreads

we-were-liars-devider
Rating

When I give a book a 3-star rating it was enjoyable, but just okay. I rate my books based on how much they met my expectations, not how ‘good’ they are. I do this because I think good/bad ratings highly depend on what you want from a book and are therefore subjective. In my reviews, I explain why a book did or didn’t meet my expectations and try to specify which people might like or dislike it. You can find more information about how I rate books here.

we-were-liars-deviderReview

Let’s start with the positive things. I absolutely flew through this. It’s short, but I finished it in one day. This means I read 225 pages that day, on a day I had lectures. My average is only about 30 pages a day during school time. So 225 pages in a day, that’s a big deal for me. Starting this book, it was a little confusing what was going on and who everyone was, because there were just a bunch of names thrown at you. But once you got through that it went by so fast! One of the things that made it a very fast read is that it had extremely short chapters. I’m talking around 2 pages average and 8 pages max. The fact that the chapters were so small made it easy to keep saying “Just one more chapter”. Another thing that I liked about it is that I feel like everyone will get something else out of this book, there are lots of things that are open for interpretation. Finally, has a map (which you really only see in fantasy) and a family tree. I thought that was a nice touch.

The writing style was both a hit and miss for me. It was definitely different. It had a lot of moments where you are like “Did that really just happen?” and then it turns out it was just a metaphor. It has a lot of dialogue and the sentences were are kind of short. These last two things make it feel like you are distant from the characters, it feels like you don’t really know them. It feels like you are observing something rather than feeling like you are a part of it. A result of all these aspects is that you have a book that is so different and interesting to read. But on the flip side it also made me not connect to the characters, and therefore not really care about them. 

What really made my enjoyment go down for this one is the mystery aspect. With mystery, I want to be surprised by the outcome of that mystery, not guess it before it get’s unraveled. That’s basically what happened, from page 33 I knew. I guessed a big part of the outcome of the plot. I did by picking up on the hints that were thrown in there.Reading the rest of the book was still enjoyable. I kept getting things that were confirming my theory. But at the ending, the big reveal, I was like “Yup… Thought so”. This is kind of a dealbreaker for me when reading a mystery novel.

we-were-liars-devider
Have you read this book?
If so, how do you feel about it?
If not, do you want to?


 

5 thoughts on “We Were Lairs | Spoiler Free Review

  1. I have heard so many conflicting things about WE WERE LIARS. After many recommendations, even from my old high school English teacher, I bought it. I am planning to read this for Aentee’s @ Read at Midnight’ s #ReadThemAllThon starting August 14 (https://readatmidnight.com/2016/07/25/pokemon-indigo-league-readthemallthon-sign-up/).
    Since you have mentioned the different writing style, I am interested to see what it is like.
    I want to challenge myself to discover the mystery before it is revealed, but at the same time I don’t want it to ruin my experience, like it did for you. I guess we’ll see!
    Happy reading!

    Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

