Read Them All Thon TBR

picsart_02-08-03-01-43

So I stumbled across this blog Read At Midnight when she did the Pokemon Go Tag. I later came back and saw she is hosting a Read-A-Thon called the #ReadThemAllThon. It’s about the Pokemon Indigo League. It stood out to me because of the challenges and because it’s over the course of three weeks. The Read-A-Thon will run between Sunday 14th and September 4th. You can find more information on rules and such hereShe gave permission to use the pictures she made, so I’m doing just that.


There is also an aspect of choosing a Pokemon and evolving it through reading, reviewing, posting, etc. (Again you can find more info in the link above)
PicsArt_08-10-12.06.05

 

 

 

 

 

 


I chose Dratini because 1. She can evolve twice (which will be good for more CP) and 2. She is my lucky one in Pokemon Go. I keep finding her everywhere! 


The challenges and my TBR: 

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

I’m trying to fit my August TBR in here because this Read-A-Thon takes up 3 weeks of August and I still want to read those books. So I chose The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith for this one, which is the first book in the Corman Strike series.

Pages: 550, Potential CP: +55 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge02-cascaderFor this one I chose another book from my August TBRThe Book Thief by Markus ZusakI haven’t heard of a person who read this book and didn’t cry. So if any of the books on my shelf will do the trick, it would be this one.

Pages: 552, Potential CP: +55 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge03-thunderWhat a surprise, another book from my August TBR! For this one I chose The Girl on the Train by Paula HawkinsThis book was everywhere last summer, walking through a bookshop it was practically thrown in your face.

Pages: 316, Potential CP: +31 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbowRight now I don’t have any books on my TBR (that I own) that really feature diversity. Not one that is set in a different country, is about a different culture or has characters from a different ethnicity than mine. I’m pretty broke so I can’t buy any books to fit the challenges. So I went with Death Note (Black Edition) Vol I by Tsugumi Ohba Illustrated by Takeshi Obata. This volume Includes Vol 1: Boredom and Vol 2: Confluence. This is the one manga I bought recently. I have never read manga before, nor have I read anything from a Japanese author before. So I figured this was about as diverse as I could get with what I have right now.

Pages: 200, Potential CP: +10 & +10 if completed (because with manga and graphic novels you get half of all points, I asked)

readthemallthon-badge05-soulWe are now going into some I’m unsure about. This will be one of the last challenges I try to complete. I think I’m going with Looking for Alaska by John Green on this one. Every book by John Green has an epic romance. I tried reading it before, about 2 years ago and didn’t get any further than page 44. Back then I was on vacation and read The Hunger Games, but didn’t bring the next book in that series. So I started reading this one but couldn’t get into it because I wanted to read Catching Fire instead. This would be the perfect push to pick it up and try again, starting on page 1. Because I have no desire to pick it up otherwise.

Pages: 268, Potential CP: +26 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge06-marshFor this one again, going back to my August TBR. I chose A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. Which we probably all know, has a lot of fantasy elements going for it. I chose this one because it’s huge so even though I probably won’t finish it, I can still get a lot of pages read. I read the first 82 pages last summer, but have decided that I’m starting from page 1 again.

Pages: 780 pages, Potential CP: +78 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge07-flameLike with Looking for Alaska I’m unsure about this one. I think I’m going with A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. The cover is the most red cover I currently have. I went with this one because again, it’s a great push to pick it up. I kinda lost interest in it because of the amount of hype anything by Sarah J. Mass has been getting. This happens to me quite a lot, hype making me not want to read it. I think it’s because I feel like i’ll be let down. But anyways, we’ll see how it goes.

Pages 419, Potential CP: +41 & +20 if completed

readthemallthon-badge08-earth.jpgI don’t have many post-apocalyptic books and I still have one book from my August TBR to fit in, so I decided to go with The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey. I think I’m gonna have to reread the first 5o pages, because starting from page 50 wouldn’t be fair. I’m okay with that.

Pages: 460, Potential CP: +46 & +20 if completed


Had you heard of this Read-A-Thon before this post?
Are you participating?
Are you doing any other Read-A-Thon’s?

 

 

18 thoughts on “Read Them All Thon TBR

  1. Great list of books, it looks like you’re going for a real challenge! Looking forward to seeing how you get along with it. I have a Sarah J. Maas book on my readathon list too, but I’m starting with Throne of Glass, as this will be the first of her books I’ve read.

    Like

      1. Sure thing, I have some pretty chunky books for this read-a-thon so hopefully I will get through them all! I read 5 books in a week for the booktube-a-thon, so hopefully 8 in 3 weeks will be pretty easy. Fingers crossed haha 🙂

        Like

      2. I plan on doing so. I hope I’ll get around to it. But I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself as these are the last three weeks of my summer. I start uni on september 5th so I don’t want to start out all stressed out. So well see how it goes! How about you?

        Like

      3. I am, hopefully, I live in Australia so its winter for us. Also I am doing an online beauty therapy course and its only 7 months, so I have no breaks..
        So hopefully I will get time between studying and reading to get the reviews up!

        Like

  2. Oooo I’m glad to see you’re participating too! I wish you luck with all of your books (if anything will make you cry, The Book Thief will probably be it.), and I hope to get all of my challenges completed as well! Hopefully we will see each other throughout the week! 🙂
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

