Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

 

Tag-4.pngEven though we have surpassed the middle of the year with more than a month now, I still decided to do this tag because… I want to. The tag was created by the channels ReadLikeWildfire & Ely Jayne on youtube.


1. Favorite book of the year so far
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

15704174

It was choosing between this Hollow City, An ember in the ashes and this one. I chose this one because I appreciate how well though out the story was and how everything fell into place.

Check out my spoiler-free review here.


2. Favorite sequel of the year so far

Hollow City (#2 Miss Peregrine’s Children) by Ransom Riggs

23164983
This is actually the only sequel I have read so far this year. I have been reading a lot of first books in a series and a lot of stand alones. Even though I didn’t have a big sequel selection to choose from, I’m pretty sure this one would have been high on my list anyways. I liked it better than the first book, which is a big deal because seconds books in a trilogy/series disappoint me most times. This one was wonderful!

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to read
This Savage Song (#1 Monsters of Verity) by Victoria Schwab

23299512
Let me confess this, the amount of TBR books on my bookshelf is not too bad… but the amount of books on my Goodreads to-read list is out of control. I could name so many. But I went for this one. I haven’t read anything by this author yet but I have been hearing amazing things about her writing and the plots of her books sound great. This one in particularly stood out to me because it’s about two groups who are fighting each other, humans vs monsters. The children of the leaders of the group meet and form an unlikely bond, but what got me was: NO ROMANCE. A YA fantasy without romance. Sold.


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year
A Torch Against the Night (#2 An Ember in the Ashes) by Sabaa Tahir

25558608
August 30… It’s coming up really soon and I’m so excited! I read the first book in June and absolutely loved it. The fantasy genre has been growing on me. I can’t wait to jump back into this world and see where the story will go. I have heard we will get some parts of the story told through Helene’s point of view, which I can’t wait to read. I also hope we will be getting some more background on the commandant because for some reason I find that really interesting.

 

5. Biggest disappointment
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

9781471403989

This book wasn’t the worst book I read this year, but it was the biggest disappointment for me. The selection was my least favorite probably, but I already expected that one probably wasn’t for me. I expected to love We Were Liars, but I was disappointed because I guessed the plot twist at about 30% in. 


6. Biggest surprise
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (#1 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs

9781594744761
This one is the biggest surprise because I was expecting something completely different from it. But even though I didn’t get what I want, I got something I never even knew I wanted.

Check out my spoiler-free review here.


7. Favorite new author
Gillian Flynn

gillian_flynn_a_p-2
Simply because Gone Girl was is my favorite book so far and I feel the need to read all other books she has written.

 

8. Newest fictional crush
Elias from An Ember in the Ashes

Even though I never really fangirl over a male character or a couple in a book, Elias is the first guy in a book which made me think he would be attractive if he was a real person. I think the Dancing scene got me. I also like the fact that he has flaws. I hate it when authors make the male character be the ‘perfect’ nice guy who can never do anything wrong.


9. Newest favorite character

Emma from the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series

Emma_Bloom

She is such a strong female character. I love how she leads the group and protects the others. Also, I think she has a lot of depth to her and has a lot of character development as the series continues.

 

10. Book that made you cry
None! I have not cried because of a book this year. I’m a monster.


11. Book that made you happy
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover
The great message and cute characters made me happy. Even though I wasn’t moved as much as everyone else, I did love the message it was spreading.

 

12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you have seen this year
I haven’t seen any yet!

 

13. Favorite review you have written this year
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

PicsArt_07-23-12.14.44
I only have three spoiler free reviews up so far, since I started blogging in July. The first one I did is probably my favorite.

Check it out here.


14. Most beautiful book you bought this year
The Book Thief by Marcus Zusac

51LK1NgAk6L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Funny story because I ordered the normal edition in a store online and got this anniversary edition with gold on the cover, the original sketches and some extra writing from the author. I definately got lucky on that one. but the main reason it’s beautiful is because it’s the most floppy book ever! Love it.

 

15. Books I need to read by the end of the year
In adition to the ones allready mentioned above and the ones in my August TBR.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman
18498558

Death Note (Black Edition Vol 1 & 2)
6345999

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
7600924

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (#1 Harry Potter) by J.K. Rowling
22841994

The Lightning Thief (#1 Percy Jackson and the Olympians) by Rick Riordan
28187

My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier
28644674

The Raven Boys (#1 The Raven Cycle) by Maggie Stiefvater
17675462

Six of Crows (#1 Six of Crows) by Leigh Bardugo
23437156

Sweet Home by Carys Bray
9781844719068frcvr.indd

You (#1 You) by Caroline Kepnes
20821614

 

How has your reading been going this year?
How far are you on your Goodreads reading challenge?
Tell me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a Reply

