Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Spoiler Free Review

PicsArt_02-12-07.31.10.jpgMiss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Cover Flowers.png


Author:  Ransom Riggs
Publisher:  Quirk Books
Age Group:  Young Adult
Type:  Serie #1 Miss Peregrine’s Children

Genre:  Fantasy
Point of View:  First person & Single
Pages:  352
Date Published:  June 7, 2011
Date Read:  March 30, 2016

My Rating:
❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎ ❤︎

Miss Perergine's Home For Peculiar Children Devider.pngOther Reviews

#1 Hollow City

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider
Synopsis

“A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of peculiar photographs. A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.”
– Goodreads

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider

Rating

When I give a 4-star rating to a book it means I liked it, but it didn’t have everything I was hoping for. I rate my books based on how much they met my expectations, not how ‘good’ they are. I do this because I think good/bad ratings highly depend on what you want from a book and are therefore subjective. In my reviews, I explain why a book did or didn’t meet my expectations and try to specify which people might like or dislike it. You can find more information about my rating scale here.miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider

Review

Let’s start by saying, this book was not at all what I expected it to be. Going into it I didn’t know much about the premise of this book. To me, the synopsis made it sound pretty scary like a thriller or something. So I was surprised to see it was actually more of an adventure fantasy story. It does have a little bit of a creepy vibe sometimes (especially some pictures) but nothing scary or disturbing. This is actually the reason my expectations were a little letdown. It’s not that what I got wasn’t amazing in its own way, I was just really looking forward to having a scary story with pictures! But that’s really my only complaint.

On to the most important reasons I loved this book. It was so different from anything I have ever read. The most obvious reason being: it’s full of real pictures. I really haven’t seen this anywhere else, a book where the story is made up around some old pictures (if you do know any others please let me know). It adds so much to the story. On one hand, it limits your imagination a little because a lot of the characters have pictures, so you can’t imagine them yourself. But on the other hand, I feel like it only helped me with getting more sucked into the story and having a more vivid image of things.

On to the other main aspects. The characters were wonderful. 90% of the characters have very special and well-developed characteristics. I loved all of them and their interactions with each other. My favorites are probably Emma and Millard. Also, there is a love interest, which develops quite fast. But I wasn’t bothered by it because the connection made sense and it wasn’t overpowering to the book as a whole. The world is based on the real world but has a lot of weird elements that were interesting to discover. And really, after the first book you still haven’t discovered everything to it. Finally the plot, what a rollercoaster. Twists and turns all throughout. It took a little while to set the story up, so the beginning was a bit slow. I was never bored though, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The only thing that wasn’t really special or different was the writing style. Don’t get me wrong there wasn’t anything wrong with it, but it’s basically the only thing that didn’t stand out to me. It was just good.

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider
Summary of Likes and Dislikes

+ It’s story, characters, format is all unique.
+ Vintage photographs that are woven into the story and make it more vivid.
+ Very interesting, well developed, lovable group of main characters.
+ Love interest wasn’t too overpowering and made sense.
+ Intricate and fascinating world to discover inside our own world.
+ Plot line was a rollercoaster ride. 

– It wasn’t scary.
– Pictures of the actual characters took away from imagining them myself.
– Took some time to get into. 

miss-perergines-home-for-peculiar-children-devider

Have you read this book?
If so, how do you feel about it?
If not, do you want to?

 

5 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Spoiler Free Review

Leave a Reply

