August TBR

PicsArt_03-31-11.13.22
I usually don’t do TBR’s but since I now have this blog, and since it’s vacation. Why not?! I might not stick to it, I might only read 10% of it. We’ll see by the end of the month. So first I’m trying to finish up some books

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-01 om 09.20.41.png

Library of Souls (#3 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs
I’m not giving a synopsis for the third book in a series.
This is a book I started last month and plan on finishing soon. It’s the one I’m starting with for August. I talked about this book and my progress so far in my July Wrap-Up, posted yesterday. So I’m not going to repeat myself. So far I have read 145 out of 458 pages.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
It’s thriller that starts off very mysterious in this facility where the children are locked up and strapped down. Let the mystery unfold… You really don’t need to know more. Same story as for Library of Souls. So far I have read 50 out of 460 pages.

 

A Game of Thrones (#1 A Song of Ice and Fire) by George R.R. Martin
If you live under a rock: A Song of Ice and Fire is this epic fantasy series that has been made into a tv show on HBO. It’s about a world where everyone is fighting to sit their ass down on the iron throne. Really why am I even writing this, everyone knows by now.
So I started reading this last summer and got to page 87 when I was on vacation. After that, I never picked it up again. Not because I didn’t like it, but because life happened. I changed study and moved out. I didn’t pick up any books again until February of this year. When I did I felt like this 807 pages long book was a little too much to get back into reading. So I put it off. But now is the time! After finishing season 6 of the show.

Schermafbeelding 2017-04-01 om 09.23.20.png

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
I don’t know too much about this one. Most of the time I like to know as little as possible when going into a book, especially when it’s a crime/mystery/thriller. I’m not sure which one of those fits this book best. What I do know is that it’s about this girl who takes the train all the time. She learns more about the other people on the train. One day something changes and someone disappears. She goes to investigate this? I could be off. Anyways I bought this book last summer when the amount of hype for it was out of this world. I never really got around to it because I bought some other books too. I was on vacation with my boyfriend and he started reading this, so when I wanted to read it it was taken. He never ended up finishing it. He said it was weird but he never really reads. So now I’m going to give it a try, finally!

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
All I know is that it’s a historical fiction about World War II and it’s told from the perspective of death.
DEATH?! Say no more, I’m in. On Booktube (which I watch too much) everybody and their mothers best friends neighbors goldfish has talked about this book and loved it. Also, everybody says you will cry, for sure. So I’m really looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about, but also I’m scared because my expectations are practically through the roof.

The Cuckoo’s Calling (#1 Cormoran Strike) by Robert Galbraith
It’s about this private investigator who isn’t doing too well until this case of the death of a supermodel comes along. The police ruled it as suicide, but I guess there is a little more to the story than that.
For those of you who didn’t know yet, this is the first crime/mystery novel J.K. Rowling has written under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. Isn’t it crazy that the first book I’ll read by J.K. Rowling won’t be Harry Potter. I want to read that too but I decided to first get through the books I have on my shelf. I am very excited for this one.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38Have you read any of these?
What do you plan on reading in August? 

4 thoughts on “August TBR

Leave a Reply

