July Wrap Up

PicsArt_03-31-10.55.06.jpg
Although I am kinda disappointed with how much I have read this month, I decided to still do a wrap-up. During school time I really only read about 2 books each month. During the summertime, I expect to read at least 6. But a reading slump happened… and I only read two complete books and some pages here and there. But let’s look at the positive side, in 2015 I only read one book in an entire year. I feel better now. Including the progress I made in books I didn’t finish, I read a total of 942 pages this month.

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38What I Read & What I Made Progress In

Schermafbeelding 2017-03-31 om 22.36.26.png

Finished

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

I read this the first few days of the month. 100 something pages a day. It was an enjoyable read. I loved the message of the book as a whole and the characters. But the hype it had made me have really high expectations and I wasn’t really blown away. I am not 100% sure what it was, for me it just wasn’t AS touching as you would expect a story like this to be. This book has 359 pages. 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
★.5
I buddy read this book with a girl I met on a bookish app called BooksAmino. We read about 100 pages a week and finished it on the last Wednesday of the month. I am so torn on this one. The romance was pretty cute. But as a book about mental illness. I felt like it fell short. There were so many things that made me annoyed while reading this book. This book has 388 pages. 

Progress

Library of Souls (#1 Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs
I started reading this book after I finished Aristotle and Dante. I fell into this stage of not knowing what to pick up, where nothing really stands out to you. So I decided to pick up the last book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children trilogy. I read the first two books in March and April. After finishing the first two I wanted to save the last one because I didn’t want it to be over. Now I regret it because I started it now but keep putting down. It’s not that I’m not enjoying it, I just can’t focus on reading. Some days I only read like 5 pages of it. I read 145 out of 458 pages.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
I started reading this book around the middle of the month after reading Library of Souls wasn’t going too well. I thought maybe I just needed a thriller after only reading contemporary and fantasy for a while. But it didn’t help. I liked how it started but it didn’t really hook me. I read 50 out of 460 pages.  

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38What I Posted This Month

Spoiler-Free Reviews
– Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
– The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon 

Tags
 25 Bookish Facts About Me 

Other
 My First Blog Post: The who, The what and The why
– Liebster Award: I got nominated
 Me As A Reader: How I Rate Books

schermafbeelding-2016-11-13-om-20-49-38How many books/pages did you read in July?
What did you read?

One thought on “July Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

