Gone Girl | Spoiler-Free Review

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-06 om 22.24.21Gone Girl
Genre:  Mystery, Thriller
Type:  Stand Alone
Point of View:  First person & Dual
Pages:  463
Date Published:  May 24, 2012

“There are two sides to every story…
Who are you? What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveals that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are these persistent calls on his mobile phone.
So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?”

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 16.35.02Rating

When I give a 4-star rating to a book it means I liked it, but it didn’t have everything I was hoping for. I rate my books based on how much they met my expectations, not how ‘good’ they are. I do this because I think good/bad ratings highly depend on what you want from a book and are therefore subjective. In my reviews, I explain why a book did or didn’t meet my expectations and try to specify which people might like or dislike it. You can find more information about my rating scale here.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 16.35.02Review

I was a little afraid to read this book. I had really high expectations due to the crazy amount of hype this book got last year. But I was not disappointed. As the rating implies I loved all important aspects of this book. But what really stood out to me was the characters, the dual point of view and the way the plot line was built. 

Starting with the characters, all of them were pretty well developed and interesting (even the little side characters). But who intrigued me most were the two main characters, Amy & Nick. They both have this mysterious aspect to them. On one hand you get to know them on a really deep level, but on the other hand, you have this feeling of never really uncovering the whole truth about who they are. This makes really kept me on my feet. I kept thinking “Is this the real you?”.

The dual point of view added to the story. I must say I’m generally a fan of having more than one point of view, no matter if it really adds to it or not. But I feel like you would like it in this book even if it’s not normally your thing. The reason for this is that it truly gives you the two sides to the story. Sometimes you know more than one of them because the other one gave you information. Sometimes you don’t know which of them is telling the truth. This created a very tense atmosphere. 

I think the most well thought out thing about this book was the plot line. It was so confusing at the start but slowly started to make more and more sense. Puzzle pieces falling into place and secrets being uncovered. It was such a great ride. This book never stopped surprising me.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-10 om 16.35.02Schermafbeelding 2017-07-09 om 16.28.18
Have you read this book?
If so, how did you like it?
If not, do you want to?

5 thoughts on “Gone Girl | Spoiler-Free Review

Leave a Reply

