My First Blog Post: The who, The what and The why

So let’s start with the why. Actually, let’s start with hello. My name is Nikki. Standard introduction: I’m an 18-year-old female from the Netherlands who studies psychology and plays volleyball. Not so standard introduction: I’m officially an adult (according to dutch standards) and like to think I know what I’m talking about. But I probably don’t. One of the things I can say about myself with certainty is that I am a perfectionist, I have always been one. I’m the kind of person who likes to make everyone happy and accepts practically anyone for who they are. But on the other side lets the opinions of others about me matter too much. Also, I’d say I’m an introvert trying to pretend to be an extrovert. Too much personal information you say? Maybe but I figured if you care enough to read what I write, you should at least get to know me a little.

On to the what. I’d like this blog to be a place for many things. First and foremost I’m planning on this to be a place for book reviews. These reviews will contain anything from children’s to adults and horror to romance. I’ll also try to fit in some book hauls, challenges, tags, TBR’s and so on and so forth. In addition to books, I’m also considering posting some of my own writing (if I can find the courage to) or some things about planning and journaling, which I’m trying to get into. I guess we will see if it ever comes to that along the way. The most important part is that I want this to be a place where you can be yourself and tell me anything. If you agree or disagree with me, if it’s not even related to the post, tell me about it.

Great, now that that’s out of the way I can finally get to the why. It really isn’t a unique story. I just like to write about stuff. Preferably stuff I care about like… books! Also, I have been wanting to do this blog thing for a while but never thought I could do it, so didn’t go for it. I have been on this app called BooksAmino for a while, where I post reviews mostly. But I feel like a blog is another thing entirely, or at least it feels that way. Today I decided that the time has come to not give a f*ck and just go for it. So here I am.

As for my blog name. I tried to make it at least semi-original. It’s a Game of Thrones quote, if you replace books with terrors. I am a big fan of the show but have yet to read the books. I’m working on it.

PS: I took the header picture two years ago for an art assignment in school. I quite like it.

 

3 thoughts on “My First Blog Post: The who, The what and The why

Leave a Reply

